I’m SO Sick & Tired of being Sick & Tired!

Those of you that know me (or follow me on Twitter or Facebook) know that I’m ALWAYS sick. It’s something I’ve dealt with my entire life—on top of constantly feeling fatigued and never fully-rested. If I had to be completely honest, I’d say about 80% of the time I just feel like crap. It’s so bad that my own friends and family joke around and say that instead of posting complaining about being sick, I should post when I’m feeling 100% healthy (because those days are few and far between!)

When I was growing up, I remember having a TON of colds and periodically having ear infections and strep throat. I always accounted it to having a weak immune system—but it was never really proven. As I’ve gotten older, the unfortunate trend has continued and now I’m also very prone to getting sinus infections.  I come down with a cold at least once a month (usually the week before that time of the month) and then the cold symptoms kind of linger or it turns into a sinus infection. I also feel cold symptoms, especially a sore throat, whenever I feel particularly stressed out (which is pretty frequently) or if I didn’t get much sleep the night before. It’s just so frustrating and annoying!

Of course, there are people that suggest that I need to get more sleep (they’re probably right), have a better diet (mine’s okay, but could be better I guess), and exercise 3-5 times a week (so maybe they’ve got a point there…) And then I have people that advise me to take vitamins, which I’m admittedly horrible at—so horrible that I have three bottles collecting dust on my shelf as we speak. (Thankfully my boyfriend force-feeds me vitamin C gummies when I see him on the weekends 🙂 )  

So I’m clearly reallllly bad at taking other people’s advice. But, you’ll be happy to hear that I did get a full physical with my family doctor in January to see if anything major was going on and to get some peace of mind. He advised me to get blood work to check on my thyroid, white blood count levels, and a couple other things. Between still being sick and running around in February, I finally got around to it this past weekend.

While I’m relieved that everything came back normal and that I’m seemingly “healthy,” it’s beyond frustrating that I still don’t know what the heck is wrong with me! My doctor just advised me to get plenty of rest, have a balanced diet, exercise regularly, and to take a multi-vitamin or try vitamin B-complex.  I’m just so sick and tired of being sick and tired!

SickandTired

So, here it is in writing: I promise I will start AND continue going to bed earlier, eating better, exercising more regularly, and taking my vitamins EVERY DAY.

I’d love to hear your own suggestions on what I should do to feel more rested/energized/healthy! Share them below or @20sTweet!

About RoxanneMichelle21

I'm a 24 year-old twenty-something still trying to find my place in the world. In February 2012, I began my career as a Communications/Digital Media Coordinator at NFRA. I write for the blog TwentyTweets and am obsessed with zebra print, the Baltimore Ravens and Orioles and the Philadelphia 76ers. I'm a Baltimore girl at heart, but live just over the MD border in Glen Rock, PA. I live an hour away from my job, an hour and a half from my boyfriend and am still living at home with 3 awesome adults (a.k.a. my mom and two older brothers). I graduated in May 2011 from Shippensburg University, with my BA in Communication/Journalism, and an emphasis in Public Relations. You can find me driving around in my Scion tC or on Facebook or Twitter.
This entry was posted in Health & Fitness, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

