Football: Get in the Game, Ladies!

If you haven’t noticed, it’s a huge time of year for football. Ever since August, teams have been trying their best to make it to the final few weekends of the post season. If you’re anything like me, you’re more into the pigs-in-a-blanket on Sundays than you are of the pigskin. Luckily, one of my best friends convinced me to join her in a Fantasy Football League to attempt to get a little more into the game every Sunday. It was one of my best decisions of 2013.

Like I mentioned, football has never really been my “thing.” As more of a hockey girl, the sometimes slow-paced game would lose my interest after a while. I’ve always known the bare minimum thanks to the other 3/4 of my family being fanatics for the sport, but I wouldn’t cry if I missed something in a “big” game. When my best friend Pam asked me to join the National Princess League, I have to admit, I was hesitant as first. But since it was our first year, we decided to play for free so we could all get a hang of how Fantasy Football worked. After it was all said and done, I learned A LOT about football. Every week I would try to catch the games that my players were in and I would actually feel emotional if I lost–crazy, right? In the end, I still can’t say that I’m a football aficionado, but I do have to give myself some props–I won the Championship!

The National Princess League draft 2013

The National Princess League draft 2013

But ladies, here’s my point–give yourself something to look forward to when your father, brother, or boyfriend insists upon watching football every weekend. You’ll have a chance to impress them with stats, learn how to drop/pick up players, and have some friendly competition with some of your close friends. At the beginning of the season, you’ll have a draft with the other competitors in your league. My brother gave me a crash course in Fantasy drafting before I went to mine. Here is the order of positions he gave me (if someone gave you better tips, definitely let me know!):

  • Best available Quarterback or Running back
  • Whichever position you didn’t choose above
  • Wide receiver or Running back
  • Wide receiver or Running back
  • Tight End
  • Team Defense
  • Back ups of all positions (bench players)
  • Kickers

Make sure that when you choose multiple players of the same position, you make sure their bye weeks are at different times. Also, throughout the season you may have to pick up or drop players due to injury or other reasons, so have fun reading up on stats using whichever Fantasy Football program your league decides upon (we used ESPN.com…and they have an app!)

Screen shot 2013-12-24 at 1.00.43 PM

My squad!

At the end of the day, it’s all in good fun–but feel free to bask in the glory of a superb week. In the playoffs, I beat one of my friends 187-75 (sorry, Jess)! Also, get creative with your team name. The best are a play on a player or players’ names. Here are some from my league:

  • Caught Red Hernandez (that was mine!)
  • Sacks in the City
  • AMEN to Amendola
  • Over D-Wayne Bowe
  • Gronk-donka-donks

It may seem overwhelming–but I PROMISE it will be fun! If you have any questions, feel free to ask!

Did you play Fantasy Football this season? How did your team do? Or are you considering it for next season?Β  Let us know here or @20sTweet!!

~B

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

