Spruce up Your Space

If you’re job is like mine, it’s really kind of depressing when you think about the amount of time you spend at your desk. What’s even more depressing is the lack of décor my little office space currently has. I’ve been here for 9 months (has it been that long already?!) and I still feel like I still need to spruce things up around here.

Quite frankly, it’s a bit hypocritical comical that I’m  even writing this post about desk décor when mine needs a little TLC but oh well. Here are a few things that I either have, or are currently on my desk wish-list.

Audrey Desk Calendar

Audrey Desk Calendar

I am IN LOVE with this calendar from Sugar Paper and I’m desperately hoping that I’ll be able to find it cheaper one day. I’ve had my eye on it for the past 5 months, but $52 for a calendar is a little steep. Regardless, everyone should have a cute calendar at their desk…and not those generic ones the office gives out to let you know of the company holidays.

frame

Another thing I really love (and unlike the last item, I actually have this) are these “frames.” I like how basic they are (which means you can have many pictures without your space looking too cluttered) and they’re incredibly cheap (I think they were $1 at WalMart). Like Erika said in her Picture Perfect at the Office post, “you don’t want bright, collage frames that are just so-college.” So true.

Tudor City Holly card holder

Tudor City Holly card holder

You can also really show your personality and still be business-appropriate with a stylish business card holder! Kate Spade, Tory Burch, and Marc Jacobs all have fabulous card holders. It’s easy to slip the card holder in your pocket on your way to a meeting, or keep in your purse for those impromptu networking opportunities. Many of these card holders are advertised as wallets but I don’t see why you can’t use them as business card holders!

mousepads

Just like the calendars, no one likes the mouse pad that the office gives out…at least I don’t. If you’re in the market for a new mouse pad, the website Zazzle is good place to start. Many are work-appropriate but of course some aren’t (I don’t recommend you getting the Keep Calm and Party On one for your new job), but nearly all of them will show off your personality and brighten up your desk! You can even customize your own mouse pad on the site.

planner

I know I’m a total nerd, but I really love planners. I’m constantly writing reminders and notes in mine to help keep track of my schedule. These planners by Greenroom (available at Target for at little as $5.99) are my favorite! There is a lot of space to write your appointments and notes and they come in stylish colors and prints.

Of course, there are the non-negotiable desk essentials: the mirror you keep in your desk to check your teeth after lunch, Clorox wipes to clean off your desk with you spill said lunch, hand lotion (my all-time fav is Aveeno), small snacks like Kind Bars , a mug and tea bags, etc.

What am I missing? Trust me, if you saw my desk you’d know I can use all the help I can get…

~J

This entry was posted in Career and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

