Confessions of a Picky Eater

About a year ago, I decided I wanted to try and become a not-so picky eater. I seriously can’t believe it’s taken me more than a year to overcome some of my picky eating habits… But I’m happy to share that I officially eat eggs egg whites!  

Back when I began this “I’m not going to stubbornly refuse something I haven’t tried in years” journey, I asked all of you how you’ve overcome being such a picky eater. Do you just coach yourself into liking it? Convince yourself that since it’s good for you, it tastes good too?

Truth be told, it works. I was literally SO sick of having limited breakfast/brunch options, that I started trying eggs, one omelet at a time. Now, an egg white omelet full of all my favorite veggies is no big deal – in fact, I actually enjoy it! (I’ll be honest- I haven’t branched out much past omelets, but you have to start somewhere, right?)

Another healthy food I refused to eat was tomatoes. Ketchup, pasta sauce – of course! But I would conveniently leave fresh tomatoes out of recipes… or would constantly be picking them out.tomatoes

I knew tomatoes were so extremely good for you, and I hated missing out on all the antioxidants they contain. So slowly but surely, I started leaving tomatoes on my sandwiches and humoring my boyfriend by ordering bruschetta (because you know that Italian boy LOVES his tomatoes).

I bet you know where this is going. I. Like. Tomatoes. There, I said it. Who knew there were so many different types? For all you tomato-beginners out there like me, here’s the 411:

  • Beefsteak tomatoes – the big, round tomatoes you’re used to seeing sliced on a sandwich.
  • Cherry tomatoes – the small, cherry-sized, sweet and juicy tomatoes.
  • Plum tomatoes – the medium-sized, thick skinned and not overwhelmingly juicy tomatoes. These ones are currently my favorite.
  • Heirloom tomatoes – the colorful, varying-sized tomatoes that are popular among gourmet chefs. While I’m being honest here, I must say… I’ve yet to try these.

From one picky eater to another – it CAN be done. They say your taste buds change every 5-7 years, so if there’s a food you haven’t tried in a while, give it a shot. Say it with me: There’s no harm in trying, right?

Next up? Mushrooms…

~E

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Confessions of a Picky Eater

  1. I am such a picky eater as well. It is so hard to find things that I can truly enjoy. I really enjoyed this post, thanks for sharing. Best of luck with everything 🙂

  2. ErikaAnn says:

    Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

