Rise and Shine! It’s Time for the Gym!

For as long as I can remember I’ve been a morning person. In college, while everyone else was searching for their 2 pm classes, I would be looking to schedule my classes as early as possible. Now, five days a week my alarm goes off at 4:30 am and it’s not because I have to be to work at an ungodly hour or have a long commute–I wake up this early because I absolutely love working out in the morning.

I tried working out after work a few times; it didn’t go so well. My workout felt rushed and I hated fighting for a turn to use the equipment…and that’s if I even made it to the gym. 4 out of 5 times I was “too busy” (read: too hungry, wanted to go out with friends, basically wanted to do anything but go to the gym) to work out after work. I know a lot of people who are fans of a post-work workout but I am not one of them.

Working out in the morning helps wake me up. Every time I’ve gone to the gym in the morning I’m always wide awake afterwards which means I can skip the stop at Starbucks and save some money (and calories)!

It encourages me to eat better the rest of the day. Whenever I’m reaching for
an unhealthy snack I remind myself that I woke up while it was still dark out, I lifted weights, logged 45 minutes on the elliptical, took an hour-long class…whatever. Given all of these things I’m not about to ruin all my hard work by eating cookies with my lunch. Seeing how many calories I’ve burned in the morning motivates me to make healthy choices for the remainder of my day. Also, starting my day by drinking a huge bottle of water also helps keep me hydrated and encourages me to drink more water throughout the day.

“Exercise gives you endorphins. Endorphins make you happy. Happy people just don’t kill their husbands. They just don’t.” Oh how I love a good Legally Blonde reference. But seriously, I’m always in a better mood (and feel accomplished) when I work out in the morning.

Getting up an hour or two earlier than usual is definitely hard at first but you can’t let the early hour sway you from getting a workout in. I try to think of my workout like going to
work, you wouldn’t just sleep an extra hour instead of getting up for work if you’re “too tired,” right? So don’t be lazy about your workout either. You just have to get up and struggle through it get moving! Trust me, you’ll feel better about burning 500+ calories than you would just getting an extra hour of sleep.

Seriously, try working out in the morning for a week or two; you might be surprised by how much you enjoy it!

~J

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rise and Shine! It’s Time for the Gym!

  1. Katy says:

    Sooo true! It makes such a difference for me. By the end of the day, I’m usually tired and wanting to do absolutely nothing, but go lay on the couch. I too scheduled my classes early, not just for the gym, but just to enjoy the peace of the morning. I do a lot of my thinking about my day over some coffee, and I feel ready to take on anything (especially after a great morning workout) I actually have MORE energy when I go, allowing me to utilize those extra hours to get things done, when normally I’d push them off. It’s just a feeling of satisfaction all around. 🙂

    Happy Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

