TwentyTweets: Class of 2013

Two of our wonderful contributors graduated last weekend and we couldn’t be prouder! Taylor Gomes and Stacia Salvatore are two amazing writers who we were lucky enough to acquire here at TwentyTweets. In honor of these two gems, and the rest of the Class of 2013, we wanted to dedicate a post specifically to their success. We asked the girls to share their thoughts, advice, and anything else having to do with their experience. Here’s what they had to say:

942021_707733165324_665377582_nTaylor:

As I sit here with the Bruins on, my Twitter feed open, and a red velvet cupcake gawking at me I realize that my college days are officially over. I attended Salve Regina University and I graduated with a Communications major/Sports management minor. I have an idea of what I’d like to do in the future, but I haven’t actually tried to make that happen. What I do know is, I’ll be working my fourth summer at a state park that Brittni has worked at as well. When I was asked what I had to say about college, I decided to share some advice for future or current students:

  1. HAVE FUN! I know you may be paying your own way through school, or your parents took out loans to get you here, etc. but you need to enjoy your time. These are the last four years (unless you never find a job and you become a hobo like me) that you’ll have to sleep in till noon, skip a class, stay out all night knowing you’ll be able to get an omelet at one in the afternoon the next day, the list is endless.

  2. Get involved! One of the biggest things I regret throughout my four years in college is that I didn’t join enough clubs. Don’t get me wrong I didn’t just sit in my room on Tumblr for hours at a time… well not always. Some of my best memories were hosting a radio show my sophomore year. I really wish I stuck with that and joined other fun clubs. Even if you sign up for a few clubs at the beginning of the year you can always quit if it becomes too much to handle with your schoolwork and social life.

  3. Go to all the free events on campus! Trust me, when there is free food, prizes, t-shirts, etc. given out at an event, you want to be there. Especially when you live off campus and don’t have a meal plan aka that is one less meal you have to pay for. My friends and I would go to every event we could and try to collect as many free shirts as we could. Perfect for the gym or sleeping!

  4. Get a job. Trust me. I scored a job at an Old Navy near my school my junior year and it helped me out so much. Especially when you turn 21and you go out every single weekend, drinks are expensive. It’s also great to have a little extra cash when your friends want to do things off campus. It’s really annoying not to be able to participate in things because you don’t want to spend money. Most colleges have plenty of on campus jobs, it’s worth a shot! And I know at my school you were only allowed to work 10 hours a week which means you’d still have time forc classes. This goes in to my next point.

  5. Don’t be cheap. I get it, college is expensive. Most fun things cost money, but once you get a job you won’t remember only have $20 in your checking account every weekend. You’ll remember the fun times you had with your friends!

  6. Don’t go home. Some of my friends would go home every other weekend during school, basically the only time I went home is when I was forced to because I couldn’t stay in my dorm. There is so much happening at your school or the city you go to school in; why would you want to leave? BUT .. do make sure you call your parents weekly. Don’t just leave them guessing about how you’re doing in school. Plus affter your four years at school you could end up back at your parents’ house watching tv on their couch…. This is exactly what I’m doing right now.

I wish you future/current college kids luck! College goes by so fast, savior it! Do everything you can, and have an amazing time!

Taylor and her proud family

Taylor and her proud family

Stacia:

photo(12)I can’t believe that a few days ago I became a graduate of St. Bonaventure University. It feels like it was just yesterday when I was a senior in high school and so many people were saying “College is the best four years of your life!” I understand what they mean by that now, but I didn’t think that these best four years would also be the fastest.

When I came to Bonaventure as a freshman I wasn’t totally sure what to expect. I graduated high school with 52 other students. Yeah, I said 52! I only knew two other people coming into college and they were both older than me, so entering a new environment and being completely unknown was both exciting and nerve wrecking. It was a fresh start. A beginning of a new chapter that I’m so glad that I had the opportunity to experience.

There are so many memories that I’ve made over these past four years that I can’t even narrow them down! Being a freshman and learning the ways to sneak alcohol into the dorm. Coming back sophmore year and being a pro at where you’re going and what you’re doing. Junior year when you finally turn 21 and aren’t forced to use a fake ID any more! And senior year, the fastest of them all, the most bittersweet year, when you cherish every minute you have with the friends you’ve made that you now consider your family.

If there is any advice that I could give to incoming freshman who choose to start a collegiate career I would say: Be optimistic and try new things! Surround yourself with people you love. Party on the weekdays! Skip a class or two and always appreciate what  you have because these four years are truly the best four years of your life.

Stacia with her loving family

Stacia with her loving family

Congratulations, girls!! We can’t wait to see what types of post-grad adventures you experience.

~B

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

