Making Time for the Things You Love

You know those days when it feels like you just walked into your office, almost forget to eat lunch, and by the time you look at the clock, it’s already 5 o’clock? That’s been my life lately. Day by day, week by week. I keep thinking, “Okay, after THIS, things will slow down.” Nope. They keep on keeping on.

Who am I to complain? Don’t worry – I promise this isn’t a venting sesh. Besides the occasional finger cramp and stiff back, days at my desk seem to fly. There’s nothing better than feeling fully productive and accomplished.

The downside to all of this, of course, is exhaustion. When you feel like you’re going balls to the wall for a full 8, 10, 12 hours… You may find yourself sleeping on the train or crashing as soon as you walk in the door. Laundry piles up, dishes go unwashed, and the gym? Forget about it. I hate to admit it but… I’ve fallen into a pretty lazy, post-work habit. But I’ll save that for another post…

My biggest concern is not having enough time (or energy) to do the things I love. Like writing… in general… But also for this blog! I had a conversation with Jenna and Brittni about this on Friday night – ideas go unwritten, fall by the waste side, and before you know it – feel like a stranger on TwentyTweets. It happens, you know? That little thing called life. Post-grad “real world” life, to be specific.

This weekend, however, I finally had a chance to catch my breath and take a nap. When I woke up, I realized that making time for things that make life fun is a necessity. Work to live, not live to work, right?!

So here I am. Back on the blogging wagon. This post, for example? Written on the train ride into work this morning. And you know what? Instead of feeling overwhelmed, I walked to work feeling refreshed. Little joys in life really make a difference.

If you’re not a writer like me, maybe you’re a reader, a scrapbooker, a guitar player, or a gym rat. How do you find time for your favorite past times, especially when you feel like you have NO time?

Share below or @20sTweet!

~E

This entry was posted in Career and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

