It’s OK to Cheat…Sometimes

Who doesn’t love to snack? TwentyTweets contributor, Billy recently tried (and recommended) a delicious new treat and it got the rest of us thinking–what’s our unhealthy go-to snack? Because honestly, who can eat healthy all the time? We all deserve a cheat day (or two, or three)…

Here are a few of our favs:

Snyder's Hot Buffalo Wing Pretzels

Snyder’s Hot Buffalo Wing Pretzels

The pretzel company Snyder’s recently began to sell Hot Buffalo Wing pretzels, and they’re quite possibly the most satisfying treat one could imagine. I have to warn you though, if you can’t tolerate anything spicy, you might want to shy away from these heavenly snacks and try one of Snyder’s other flavors like Jalapeno, Buttermilk Ranch, Bacon Cheddar, or Honey Mustard & Onion instead. So for the next sporting event, movie, or lazy Sunday afternoon, make sure to reserve a spot on your couch for both yourself and a bag full of Snyder’s Hot Buffalo Wing pretzels. Remember though, moderation is the key.
~WB

I cosign Billy’s choice, but my favorite buffalo pretzels are made by Snack Factory. I usually like to dip them in plain hummus or eat them plain. With summer around the corner, they’re the perfect snack to grab on the way to the beach!
~B
 
So my favorite snack…I’m a sweet junkie and I don’t eat sweets often, but when I do, I take full advantage of my “cheat day.” Lately I’ve been obsessed with the homemade Dunkeroo Dip on Pinterest! All you need is regular/lite/fat-free Cool Whip (depending on how healthy you want to make this non-healthy snack), one box of Funfetti cake mix, and plain yogurt. Just mix it all the ingredients together and grab some Teddy Grams or vanilla wafers for dunking!
*K
 
Ju Ju Candy Coins

Ju Ju Candy Coins

Having a sweet tooth has its pros and cons–I can personally attest to this. Sure, indulging in a sugary treat is delicious at the time, but afterwards you feel so guilty. Every once in a while I’ll have a concoction that I made up in the bulk candy section of the grocery store. It only consists of two ingredients, but the salty and sweet combination is something that I never get sick of: blueberry yogurt covered pretzels and Ju Ju Coins. Weird? It is a bit different, but whenever I’m craving something sweet (especially at that time of the month) that’s what I’m spending $5 on!
~S

I usually try to eat as healthy as possible but deep-down I’m what some might call (okay, someone actually has called me this) a junk food junkie. Despite loving anything made with exorbitant amounts of sugar, if I can only choose one of my favorites it would be ice cream. It doesn’t matter what the weather is, it could be 0 degrees, I’m always in the mood for a couple of scoops. One of my favorite brands is Edy’s Slow Churned because it’s so incredibly creamy, comes in some unique (and classic) flavors, and won’t break the bank like a small pint of Ben & Jerry’s will. Two of my favorite flavors are Double Fudge Brownie and Nestle Drumstick Sundae Cone. And if you’re more of a frozen yogurt fan, don’t worry, I have you covered on that front too! My all-time favorite flavor is Friendly’s Fudge Berry Swirl.
~J

Newman's Own Pineapple Salsa

Newman’s Own Pineapple Salsa

I’d be lying if I said my favorite snack was anything but cookies, chocolate, ice cream… Really any kind of dessert. The more icing it has, the better! My friends used to make fun of me in college because while they were craving something fried or salty post-bar, I was looking for the cookies. The perfect balance? Sweet AND salty – think salted caramel lattes, chocolate covered pretzels – anything that has a sweet little twist. Obvi those aren’t ideal for drunk munchies, but you know what I mean.

Most recently, my friend introduced me to a salsa that I had never tried before. Don’t worry, it’s chocolate free! And definitely satisfies a crowd post-bar. 🙂 Newman’s Own Pineapple Salsa is “a little sweet with a bit of heat,” and it is SO good. The sweet pineapple taste is just enough to calm the spicy flavor you’d expect. I love Newman’s Own products because they’re all-natural, plus it’s a nonprofit company that donates ALL proceeds to charity. You can read more about that here. But in the meantime, I highly recommend the pineapple salsa. It’s absolutely delicious!
~E
 
My favorite snack has to be Oreos, and I took a chapter from The Parent Trap with Lindsay Lohan (before she went crazy) and put peanut butter on mine! It satisfies all my cravings in a few bites! I could honestly eat a sleeve of Oreos…but then again, who can’t? I’m not a huge milk drinker but adding a small glass of milk to this snack makes it perfect!
~T
 
Pepper Jack Cheez-It

Pepper Jack Cheez-It

When it comes to snacking, it’s really tough for me to narrow down my favorite go-to snack. I could honestly name ten snack foods off the top of my head that I love (not that I snack all the time or anything)! Blame it on me being a “streak-eater,” as my mom calls it. I can eat, and eat, and eat a certain food until I’m so tired of it that I won’t eat it again for at least a couple months. If I have to pick my absolute favorite snack (although I actually haven’t had it in months) it would be Pepper Jack Cheez-Its. While I do have a huge sweet tooth, I’m obsessed with cheese, especially pepper jack cheese. When I discovered that Cheez-Its came out with the pepper jack cheese flavor, my life was made. The original Cheez-Its are another one of my favs, but the pepper jack kind is seriously addicting. If you’re not careful, you could easily eat the whole box in one sitting–especially if you like a little heat like I do!
~R

What do you reach for on your cheat days? Share your favorites (and help us feel less guilty about dedicating an entire post to junk food…please)! 😉
 
 
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

