Pesto Chicken and Mozzarella Sandwich

Last night, I was feeling oh-so lazy by the time dinner rolled around. I didn’t feel like making my usual, quick dinner go-to’s (aka some sort of pasta) because it’s like… finally nice out! Who wants to eat a hot plate of pasta when it’s 60 degrees?

After a few glances around my fridge, I decided I’d be having some sort of chicken sandwich. This recipe was on the fly – based off of what I already had. I wasn’t in the mood for rocket science, and this sandwich ended up being light, easy to make, and delicious!

If you’re cooking for one like me, you will need:

  • One chicken breast 1020-245921
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • One packet of Knorr’s Pesto Sauce
  • Slice of tomato
  • Slice of mozzarella cheese
  • Bulkie roll

Salt and pepper chicken while olive oil heats on a pan. Add chicken to pan. Meanwhile, follow the cooking instructions of the pesto sauce in a small saucepan. When the pesto is almost ready, reduce heat to simmer until the chicken cooks completely through.

Turn your oven on to broil. Place the cooked chicken breast on a roll, topped with a slice of mozzarella cheese. Broil the sandwich open-faced for 3-4 minutes, or until cheese is melted.

Add pesto sauce to sandwich, top with a slice of tomato, and enjoy!

The ingredients simply go together — plus there was very little cleanup and it was delicious! If you have extra of all of the above, you can save the extra pesto sauce in the fridge for easy leftovers. My only regret? Not taking a photo of my toasty sandwich before I ate it!

Do you have any simple, sandwich recipes? Share with us @20sTweet!

~E

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pesto Chicken and Mozzarella Sandwich

  1. I am salivating at work right now

Leave a Reply

