Fun Fact: Libraries are the Sh*t

Okay so… I have a new obsession that has nothing to do with clothes, booze, shoes, Target, or puppies…

Screen shot 2013-03-25 at 11.05.06 PM

One of my faves from high school

Time to enter the nerdy side of Brittni’s life; a side that is usually overshadowed. When I was younger I was totally in love with reading. In those easier days, it felt like I had ample time to read through tons of cheesy tween novels. Once I entered high school and I became way too cool for life, my passion fell to the wayside. There was the occasional book I loved in Honors English class (shouts to Miss McClurg and Mrs. Pimental), but I didn’t have time for any personal reading. And once college started, forget it. I had absolutely no time to pick up a book after class or in between hangovers.

Now that I’m (kind of) comfortably nestled into the post-grad life, I do have time to pick up a book and indulge myself in its pages. I’d find myself in the book department at Target (okay, so I guess this does have a little to do with my favorite store), totally judging every book by its cover. Some proved to be great reads, and others fell flat and left me $15 in the hole. To help me save money and find awesome books, Jenna, our resident Fashion Editor, let me in on one of her little secrets: the library.

Seems obvious, right? Well, it had been so long since I had taken anything out from my local library that I kind of lost touch. She informed me that she merely logs on to her local library’s website to reserve pretty much any book she wants. If her library has it in stock, it’s most likely available that day or the next, but if not, it can be delivered from another library in the state. With this little thing called technology, the library will send you an email alert when it’s ready.

Screen shot 2013-03-25 at 10.48.51 PM

The possibilities are endless…

Like, WTF. Why didn’t I know about this sooner?

But anyways, as you can probably imagine, I’ve been loving the hell out of the library ever since I found out about this system. I’m hoping I’m not the only one behind on the times and this will encourage other readers to do the same. More perks include renewing online and creating an online profile. My personal favorite aspect of it all? I get an email two days before my books are due. Goodbye, late fees!Screen shot 2013-03-25 at 10.58.11 PM

What are you reading? My most recent check-out is Silver Linings Playbook. Share what you think I should get next!

~B

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

