TwentyTweets Guide to the Perfect St. Patrick’s Day

There’s nothing twenty-somethings love more than holidays that scream day drinking, partying and the like. Think Mardi Gras, Cinco de Mayo and of course, St. Patrick’s Day. Like many, St. Paddy’s Day celebrations began for other, more cultural reasons. But in today’s day and age, it’s typical to celebrate with festive attire, Irish car bombs, green beer and corned beef and cabbage whether you carry an Irish heritage or not.

All of us will be celebrating here on TwentyTweets. And since we love any excuse to party, we’ll be doing so in our various towns up and down the east coast. What will YOU be doing this St. Patrick’s Day? Whether you’ll be hitting up college parties like Billy and Stacia, “watching” parades like Taylor and myself, drinking at pubs like Katy and Roxanne, or enjoying the day with close friends from start to finish like Brittni and Jenna, we’ve got you covered. Read on to find places to go, things to do and how to make the most of out of this St. Patrick’s Day.green-beer

*********************************************

This year, St. Paddy’s Day will be remembered not only by the day, but by the entire weekend. Celebrations will begin on Friday while visiting a friend at Southern New Hampshire University. From what I’ve heard, this school knows how to party. I’m no particular fan of green beer, but it may be necessary for this occasion. Green beads, green shirt, festive socks and all, I’m ready to rock the party scene out in the woods in New Hampshire.

Once I return to Narragansett, RI, my fellow URI students and I will hold down the true meaning of “college party.” We’re planning to make a jungle juice concoction with Everclear, Burnettes, and Three Olives vodka mixed with Mountain Dew for a green effect. (Don’t worry, I’ve been getting my stomach and body physically prepared for this ‘juice’ all week.) And for the actual holiday on Sunday, I’ll be spending a quiet day at home. My mom’s making corned beef and cabbage, so I’ll try to stuff down as much as my hangover allows me.

~Billy

Going to college in the middle of nowhere wouldn’t exactly be the ideal spot to celebrate St. Paddy’s Day. But in Allegany, NY, there’s always a reason to party. St. Bonaventure University students get a kick out of this holiday, waking up extra early to begin the day with kegs and eggs. I’m looking forward to celebrating the day with close friends. For all the twenty-somethings out there celebrating in college towns, I’ve got a few tips for you: 1) Wear green! Green tees, green pants, green socks, green Mardi Gras beads! If you’re in the middle of nowhere like me, Wal-Mart’s got you covered.  2)  Dye your drink green… Easy and simple. If you can’t find green food coloring, remember blue and yellow make green. My favorite way of chugging this beverage is by using a funnel — and oh yes — it’s green!  3) Hit the bars. A lot of places will have drink specials and other fun drinks. Last year I remember a bar having green shots called Irish Orgasm and Irish Aliens. 4)  Last but not least, Shamrock Shakes. Enjoy a minty delicious treat from McDonald’s on your way to and from the bars with your DD!

A lot of folks I know will also be heading to Buffalo (about an hour away) for the annual Saint Patrick’s Day parade. It starts at 2 p.m. on Delaware Avenue between Niagara Square and North Streets. Leave early – I’m sure traffic will be insane!

~Stacia

Surprisingly enough, living in York, PA, there are actually a lot of fun things to do for St. Paddy’s Day! For the second year in a row, I’ll be going to Kegs & Eggs! Held at a local college bar named Murph’s Study Hall, the line begins around 6:30 a.m. Once you make it inside, you’ll find green eggs and ham, green beer and Guinness (my personal fave) galore! It’s set up as a buffet style so you just take what you please. They sell shirts and glasses, too.

Then if you decide you’ve had enough of the college scene, you can venture onto George Street. This is the place to be for “bar crawls” because many open early. There’s a new Irish pub named Maewyn’s. I’m excited to check it out and of course, celebrate my Irish heritage!

~Katy

Being a beer lover, I’m all about Saint Patrick’s Day, even though I’m not the least bit Irish. As we all know, the day was one of the best excuses to binge drink all day in college. In the post-grad world, it’s been like pulling teeth to make plans. (I originally intended to celebrate with friends in West Chester, PA, but they’re going out on the actual holiday on Sunday. This doesn’t really work for me being two hours away and having that whole work thing on Monday.)

So finally, some of my high school besties and I decided that Baltimore would be the perfect location. We just found out about the St. Paddy’s Irish PubCrawl in Fells Point (a neighborhood in Baltimore), so bring on the day-drinking! It’s only a $10 wristband, with $3 12 oz. domestic draft beers, $4 Irish whiskeys, and $5 Irish car bombs at participating bars—my kind of party! 

~Roxanne

Let me start by saying this will be my first St. Patrick’s Day as a 21-year-old, and it’s also my senior year in college. So without a doubt, I’ll be attending the St. Patrick’s Day parade in Newport, RI. I’ve never attended it before, and it’s one of the biggest events in Newport all year! For some it’s just a nice parade for family, but for most twenty-somethings, it’s an excuse to get as drunk as possible. The bars open at 8 a.m. on the day of the parade – Saturday, March 16.

I plan on eating scrambled eggs and sipping mimosas with friends for a pregame breakfast before heading to O’Brien’s Pub. The parade begins at 11 a.m. and will pass by O’Brien’s on Thames Street, so it’s the perfect location for a good spot. After the parade, we’ll rally on to my favorite Irish pub on the island, The Fastnet Pub. Even the bartenders have Irish accents! As for my attire, it’s already been picked out for months… Including a flag, glasses and a hat. You can tell I’m excited, right?

~Taylor

My St. Patrick’s Day weekend is going to be spent doing more than just celebrating my love for beer and the color green. My best friend is getting married on Saturday and we’ll be spending the night in Newport, RI. Although I’ll miss the annual parade, we’ll continue celebrating even after the reception at Belle Mer, located in the Goat Island section of Newport. We plan on heading to Brick Alley Pub to ring in St. Patrick’s Day a night early. The next morning, we’ll nurse our hangovers with some brunch, and then head back out on the town. We haven’t determined where we’ll be chugging green beer just yet, but I already have my “Irish Queen” crown from the dollar spot at Target and a green pair of pants ready, so I will fit right in!

St. Patrick’s Day 2012 was spent in Newport as well. A friend of mine had an apartment right above Via Via Pizza on Thames Street (the parade route), so we drank homemade Irish Car Bombs at 9:30 a.m. and watched the parade from his balcony. After way too many beers, a couple car bombs, and just as many slices of pizza, we were hungover by 3 p.m. But I wouldn’t have had it any other way!

~Brittni

Looking to celebrate a memorable St. Paddy’s Day? What better place to do it than Boston? There definitely won’t be a shortage of things to do this weekend. Even if you’re not from around here, it’s worth the trip!

If you’re into Irish rock music, you have two chances to check out the Irish rock band Dropkick Murphys this weekend. They’ll be playing at the TD Garden on March 15 and at House of Blues on March 17. Into traditional folk music? Get your Irish jig on at Faneuil Hall where there will be live (and FREE) music and dancing from 11-4 on Sunday. There are also plenty of places hosting St. Patrick’s Day celebrations such as the Landsdowne Pub, McGreevey’s in Back Bay, or my personal favorite, MJ O’Connor’s in Park Plaza. Of course, you can even get a traditional corned beef and cabbage dinner; I heard Durgin Park (in Faneuil Hall) is a good place to get some!

~Jenna

No matter where you go in Boston this weekend, be ready for the crowds. Especially if you’re going to be in South Boston (aka Southie) like me! The parade begins at 1 p.m., but people will start lining the route from the Broadway T stop to Andrews Square many hours before the start. We plan on starting early and if the weather’s nice, drinking on the roof of my boyfriend’s apartment (only a few blocks away from Broadway). Every bar in Southie will be packed – Shennanigans, Amrhein’s, and Stats to name a few. Hopefully we’ll make it into one of them before cover prices skyrocket. I heard people were paying up to $30 to get into some places last year. If that’s the case… we’ll enjoy our green beer and Guinness back at the apartment!

~Erika

*********************************************

happystpatricksday

Where ever you are, whatever you do, be safe and have fun! Happy St. Patrick’s Day from everyone at TwentyTweets!

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TwentyTweets Guide to the Perfect St. Patrick’s Day

  1. Hell yeah! Cheers to us and have a great St. Patrick’s Day!!!!

Leave a Reply

