Survivors Ready? Go!

Thirteen years ago I (like millions of others) settled into my living room to watch one of the first reality TV shows ever produced. Now, it’s hard to find a TV show that isn’t reality TV. It may be over a decade later, but that same reality TV show is still (kind of) going strong, and I’ll be tuning in. Tonight is the premiere of Survivor! Cue the tribal council music.

Are you still watching?! I have to admit I dropped off the bandwagon when I was in college, but quickly hopped back on once my schedule wasn’t so hectic. For those of you who are keeping track… Survivor is now in its 26th season! That’s 26 seasons of tribal councils, secret alliances, backstabbing, reward challenges, malnutrition, and over $26 million dollars worth of prize money. I always joke with my family that I’m going to sign up one day. However, anyone that knows me knows I wouldn’t last a day on a Survivor island…

Screen shot 2013-02-12 at 8.36.15 PM

The Favorites, the Bikal Tribe

This season, 10 past players (the “favorites”) are up against 10 fans to compete for the 1 million dollar prize. The cast this season includes a bartender, an Iraqi war vet, a (female) race car driver, a student and others. If you haven’t watched Survivor in awhile, I suggest you try checking it out again. It’s nice to watch a show that’s not the usual “reality TV.” I’m sure there are parts of the show that are a little scripted, but in general, it doesn’t seem incredibly fake like some of of those other reality shows (yes Kardashians, I’m talking to you).

Screen shot 2013-02-12 at 8.44.00 PM

The Fans, the Gota Tribe

If you’re as excited as I am for the new season, click here to “Meet the Cast.”  And if it counts for anything, this season I’m rooting for Malcolm (and Dawn for second place)!

Survior Caramoan–Fans vs Favorites begins tonight at 8 p.m. EST on CBS.

~J

 
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Survivors Ready? Go!

  1. Lynn says:

    Great article!!I LOVE survivor!! I have not missed one episode since it began!! I HAVE tried out….8 times! I am determined to get on the show & will continue to try out! I want to do the challenges, gossip, live off the land, meet & dance with local island folks… Everything seems appealing… Except not wearing make-up…hahaha!

  2. ErikaAnn says:

    One day they’ll pick you, Aunt Lynn… One day!! Thanks for reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

