Feeling Refreshed with a Cool Mist Humidifier

You know that hoarse, dry throat feeling when you first wake up in the morning? How about chapped lips, dry skin and constantly static hair? That used to be me, that is, until I got my Crane Germ Defense Warm and Cool Mist Humidifier.c26-B0053BF9WK-1-l

I didn’t realize my apartment had such dry heat. Sure, I was waking up throughout the night to drink some water and reapply chapstick, but it wasn’t too out of the ordinary and it didn’t really bother me. But then my mom came for a visit. She couldn’t believe how dry the air was in my apartment and insisted on getting me a humidifier. (You should note that these little pieces of machinery typically range anywhere between $50-$125. She said it was worth the extra money to get the germ-defense kind so it filtered the air and produced filtered mist. I was skeptical of its effects, and gladly let my mom gift this purchase to me.)

Well, you know how they say your mother’s always right?

Since using my humidifier, I wake up so much more comfortably. I used to have to chug drink water immediately after waking up to get that hoarse feeling out of my throat. It may just be a coincidence with the fact that I’ve also been drinking Emergen-C, but right around the time I started using my humidifier, I was fighting off beginning feelings of the flu. Humidifiers pride themselves in also being common cold remedies. Either way, I feel so much better.

It’s easy to use: Simply fill the tank with water, set the amount of time you want it to run (I just hit “continuously” and turn it off in the morning), and the percent of humidity you want in the air. Studies show that between 40-60% humidity is ideal. So I set my humidifier at 50% and go to bed. Warm or cool mist — it’s just about personal preference.

Two of the biggest differences for me are my skin and hair. I wouldn’t say I was a chapstick addict because I was seriously in constant need of it. But now, my lips are finally starting to feel smoother and I don’t wake up with cracked, dry lips. I’m also one of those people who has to fight the battle of static-y hair all winter long. Sound familiar? It’s not a health hazard but honestly, it’s so annoying. Hallelujah! My hair is starting to feel normal again! The term “humid” in humidifier might scare you off, but don’t let it — it’s not enough humidity to cause frizzy, summer hair. It’s the happy medium, if you will.

If you’ve been suffering from dry heat, I suggest you give a humidifier a try. They’re not just for babies — although Crane has some really cute baby humidifiers! Check out the product list of humidifiers, purifiers, vaporizers and space heaters here.

~E

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

