Who Are You Wearing?

I’ll confess: I’ve always wanted someone to ask me that. Granted, if anyone did ask I wouldn’t have an answer as good as celebs do on the red carpet..but it’d still be nice. In March I have a work event that I get to get all dressed up for and as soon as I heard about it (back in September) I immediately pictured what I wanted to wear: a navy dress (after all, navy is the new black), dark silver or gold heels, and a little subtle jewelry. The problem, of course, is that I don’t have a navy dress and my bank account isn’t exactly welcoming a shopping excursion at Nordstom.

On the website, each dress has detailed size and fit information to help you choose the perfect dress.

On the website, each dress has detailed size and fit information to help you choose the perfect dress.

Rent The Runway is a online members-only site (but fear not, it’s free to sign up) that allows you to rent designer dresses and accessories for 4 or 8 days, for a fraction of their retail price. These dresses are current too; the dress I’m renting is still being sold at Nordstrom! Want to wear the same Tracy Reese dress Michelle Obama wore to the Democratic National Convention 2012? You can rent it here for only $75!

Here’s how it works:

Screen shot 2013-01-06 at 7.09.35 PMAfter you sign up, you can shop the dozens of dresses (and accessories) Rent the Runway has to offer. You can shop by what’s new, designer, occasion, by dress style, or by (my favorite) shopping their “runway.” The Runway has pictures of real women (in your age bracket) wearing the dresses! These real pictures make it easy to accessorize the dress, get some a ideas on how to style your hair, or just get some fashion tips! You can also read reviews of the dress (some ladies even write their measurements so you know if you’re the same body style) including information about what event they wore it for, how it fits, if it’s comfortable, etc.

The Monique Lhuillier dress I chose for my event.

The Monique Lhuillier dress I chose for my event.

After you chose your dress enter your zipcode to check availability, choose two sizes you want your dress sent in (to ensure the dress fits perfectly), and select the dates you want your dress for. Once the event is over you sadly simply send the dress back.

Rent The Runway is the perfect solution for when you need a fashionable dress for a special event but don’t want to spend a lot of money. I’m sure we all have the one (or two, or five) dress in our closet that we bought for a special event…and only wore once.

~J

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Are You Wearing?

  1. ErikaAnn says:

    In my December BirchBox (the last one I got before canceling my subscription), I actually got a $50 giftcard to Rent the Runway!! Umm.. what? I guess that box may end up being a little handier than I imagined. How cool!

Leave a Reply

