Fantasy Football: A League of Their Own, Part Three

Our football loving friend Roxanne is back! This time, she shares all about her fantasy team’s struggles and victories heading into post-season playoffs. Stay tuned and find out just how easy (or not so easy) it is to take part in a Fantasy Football League!

*************************************************************

It’s been awhile, but don’t think I forgot about you twenty-somethings! We’re at week 15 in the regular NFL season and let me tell you it’s been one hell of a rollercoaster for my first Fantasy Football season!  There have been good weeks and bad weeks; weeks I wanted to jump up and down in joy, and also several painful weeks where I wanted to gauge my eyes out. There was never a dull moment between a ton of injuries, BYE weeks, and picking the right players to start. All I can say is that I have developed a true love-hate relationship with Fantasy Football and that I am definitely, by no means, an expert. But like I said, it’s been one hell of a ride. And I made it to the playoffs!

The beginning of the season was definitely my prime. Of course I had a couple of injuries and set-backs here and there, but I was still pulling through and winning! Ok, I know that winning isn’t everything it’s the only thing, but when you’re playing in an all girls’ league for money… Well, you can understand the magnitude.

As the season continued, things got more complicated and stressful.  I went from easily winning every week to barely winning, and to even getting blown away. I made yet another rookie mistake (see my first rookie mistake in Part Two!) when half of my team had the same BYE week. As in… They didn’t have a game. As in… I got no points. Yeah, I was literally kicking myself over that one!

Figuring out your play makers is another tough one. I had too many running backs and not enough wide receivers; thus, I had to add a mediocre Philadelphia Eagles wide receiver per my boyfriend’s advice (desperate times call for drastic measures!) to try and make up for it. Some weeks, I was adding and dropping players only minutes before kickoff. Other weeks, I completely forgot to check! A lot of my mistakes could be avoided, but I have to warn you — owning a Fantasy Football team is hard work and can be extremely time consuming!

hungerfoultrophyweek1213fantasy

Out of my control was how the players performed. There were three different weeks when Tony Romo, who I had benched all season, completely outscored the nearly perfect Matt Ryan. Stars like this Atlanta Falcon helped me win the Hunger Fouls Trophy two weeks in a row (see above). Yikes!

After it’s all said and done, I finished 4th in the regular season. Somehow I miraculously made A League of Their Own’s Fantasy Football playoffs!!! When I think of playoffs, I can’t help but think of this commercial:

Rice ‘em Dice ‘em is going to the playoffs!!!

As week 15 begins, Fantasy Football playoffs are officially upon us. I’m determined to spend however long it takes to analyze and decide who to start, bench, add and/or drop. And most importantly, rookie mistakes will no longer be tolerated.

My opponent, Rice Rice Baby, is projected to win this week by about 25 points. But if there’s one thing I learned in Fantasy Football, it’s anyone’s game!

When I first decided to take part in a Fantasy Football League, my goal was to make it to playoffs. Here I am.  No matter what happens, I’m beyond excited that I made it this far (and that I beat majority of my fellow Baltimore lady Twitter friends!)

So, my fellow twenty-somethings: wish me luck, cross your fingers and drink a beer in my honor as I begin my first exhilarating playoff season!  Be sure to check back next week to see how it went. 🙂

~Roxanne

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fantasy Football: A League of Their Own, Part Three

  1. jumpingpolarbear says:

    Coolest press conference ever :).

Leave a Reply

