Snag This Look: Society Barbie

Twitter is absolutely awesome…But we already knew that. What brings me to say this now? Well, our newest Snag this Look feature was discovered there and this one is very unique. I found her in the “anon” twitter world. This is a place where thousands of people use unique handles and vague profile pictures to interact with other anonymous people. It may seem a little creepy, but it’s actually a very cool way to speak your mind freely, without having to worry about who’s watching–because you literally don’t actually know ANYONE!

Many of the popular anons have thousands of followers, which surpasses any of us with our measly hundred or so. This snag, who wanted to continue to be anonymous, goes by the name of @societybarbie. She has a whopping 3,666 followers and counting. Anons also create anon “friendships” with others, and once you’ve been out there for a little while, you get the hang of it. Note: I DO have an anon account, but can’t share it here since it will blow my cover. See if you can find me! πŸ˜‰

Anyways, @societybarbie is special in another way, too. Usually we try to keep Snags to more wallet-friendly styles, but I couldn’t resist sharing hers. It’s always great to treat yourself, right? Here is how she describes her personal style, along with a picture of the outfit she chose to share:

I like to stand out anywhere I go. I am 18 years old but I am the farthest thing from it. I think like I’m 30 & look like I’m 25. I’ve been to Vegas multiple times and live life like a 21 year old. Currently, I am attending University of Washington for pre-law and I work at a bank. I want to inspire people to dress better and be as excited about dressing up as I am every morning. It’s like you are your own Barbie. My inspiration comes mostly from the over-sized-chic look and a lot of street style looks from London. I like mixing pieces that look elegant and represent the current fashion trends, as I do in this outfit. To be completely honest I always wake up and think β€˜What would Serena wear?’ from Gossip Girl because I secretly think she’s my twin.
Screen shot 2012-12-05 at 6.52.06 PMBoots, Coach, $270
Jeans, Abercombie, $88
Sweater, Mac & Jac, $75
Fur Vest, Tasha Tarno, $800
Purse, Louis Vuitton Neverfull GM, $900
Watch, Michael Kors, $280

Her inspiration for THIS look? “…The current hype with fur and over-sized clothes for fall. The rider boots are a classic touch and the Neverfull GM NEVER goes out of style. I try to embrace my twitter name as a SOCIETY girl because we all have to be on top of things πŸ˜‰

Be sure to follow the fashion-forward twitter maven @societybarbie and share your thoughts about her look @20sTweet!

~B

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

