Affordable Makeup Heaven: Found!

As a twenty-something woman, I hit the makeup game kind of late—as in, I just recently started experimenting with eye shadow.  Yes, that late. Of course, I’ve been wearing makeup for years, but I’ve only started wearing a full face of makeup this year. Even though I may be a newbie, I’ve actually found some amazing products that I insist you try – especially if you’re on a college budget like me!

Urban Decay all nighter LX Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray: Price ranges from $16 to $24 (depending on what size you buy).  I ordered this off of Hautelook over the summer. To apply, just shake well and hold the bottle 8”-10” away from your face.  Then, mist over your face 2-4 times after you’ve applied your makeup. I’ve applied this when I’ve had an 8-hour work day and I’ve come home and found that my makeup is still completely intact. The consistency of the product is weightless–not heavy on the skin at all. This is the perfect product to have for the on-the-go girl because a few sprays can take you from work to drinks with the girls without a touch up. And although the product may seem on the pricy side for college girls, it will cut down on the amount of makeup you use daily.

E.L.F. Eyelid Primer. This is the most holy grail product I’ve ever found I found while on a Target binge. I always peruse the makeup aisles in search of something new and exciting. The E.L.F eyelid primer costs $1, yes I said it–ONE DOLLAR! It’s absolutely fantastic. I worked today and put makeup on at 8 a.m. At the end of the day, my eye shadow is still intact.

The next product is the N.Y.C Smooth Skin Bronzing Face Powder. This retails for $2.99 and can be found at most drugstores. Since it’s winter, I decided to switch to a matte bronzer, and I’ve heard nothing but fabulous reviews of this product. It’s great for contouring or using as an all-over bronzer. The one I have is in “Sunny,” and I’m fair-skinned, so it works well with my skin tone.

The last product I’ve been loving lately is Wet n Wild megalast nail polish. With a retail value of $1.99, they can be found at Rite-Aid and Walgreens. I have several colors, but the color I wore basically all summer (and on my toes during Fall) is “I Need a Refresh-Mint.” It’s the perfect Tiffany Blue type color. It looks absolutely amazing on and lasts for about 4-5 days (crazy for being so cheap!) I also love the consistency of the polish and the brush.

Do you know of any other products that work in a college girl’s budget?! Let us know @20sTweet!

~T

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Affordable Makeup Heaven: Found!

  1. Kimberly C. says:

    I use the sally hansen topcoat that comes in the red bottle to make polish last even if it’s cheaper! Also Sephora brand bronzer

  2. Nicole says:

    I really, really, REALLY recommend 2 other products: Eclos facial cleanser and L’oreal BB Cream. I’ve battled with pimples my entire life, *until* I started using Eclos. The cleanser and moisturizing cream are amazing, my face has never felt or looked better. Thanks to a clearer, healthier complexion, I don’t need heavy foundation either. I use L’oreal’s BB cream and it hydrates, smooths, and protects without feeling greasy. And the best news of all: both products are available at national retailers and reasonably priced. I may be approaching 30 (GASP!), but I’ll always be a cheapa$$.

    Blessings,
    Nicole @ Three 31

  3. twentytweetscontributor says:

    Thanks for your suggestions – we’ll have to check them out! Nicole, did you ever see Brittni’s post on BB Cream? She’s a big fan, too! https://twentytweets.wordpress.com/2012/03/28/i-love-you-b-b/

Leave a Reply

