The Easiest Way to Look More Put Together

Being twenty-something doesn’t exactly scream “lots of money.”  If fact, it mostly likely screams “strapped for cash.”  So when I see sales and deals, I try to make the most of them.  A few months ago I was shopping at Gap when they were having one of their famous ‘additional 30% of sale’ sales.  As I was browsing the racks of pants I found a great pair of straight leg dress pants (which normally retail for about $69.99) for $19.99–and don’t forget about the additional 30% off!  They were the right color, right waist size but of course, not the right length.  Isn’t that always the way?  Shop a major sale and you’ll find nothing in your size?  Anyways, I’m normally, I’m a “regular,” but these pants were a “long.” I certaintly wasn’t about to walk away from them for such a great price though, so I bought them anyways.  Then off the the dry cleaners I went.  For $5 more I was able to get a pair of pants that fit me perfectly.

How?  Easy.  Just get them hemmed!  If you can, I recommend getting as many of your clothes tailored and hemmed as possible. It turns clothes that fit ‘well’ into clothes that fit ‘perfectly’ (literally).  Even if you’re only hemming them a quarter of an inch or so–the extra effort is worth it!  I know what you’re thinking: I don’t have all day to get my clothes hemmed!  Well my friend, neither do I.  But trust me, just taking an extra 5 minutes to make your clothes fit perfectly is so worth it.  For an even better fit, enlist a friend (or in my case, a mother) to assist you in placing the pins. (You can get a better idea of how the clothes should fit if you’re standing up straight.) The whole process is extremely uncomplicated.

  • Try the clothes on, and then just tuck and fold where you want the stitching to go.
  • Secure with safety pins.
  • Finally, drop the clothes off at the dry cleaners (or tailors) and pick up your perfectly fitted clothes a week later.
  • For an even more customized fit, put on the shoes you’ll most likely be wearing with the outfit.

The days of worrying about your pants not looking right with the shoes you’re wearing or your dress looking too baggy is over.

Most of us don’t have tons of cash lying around to get our clothes specially made for us (or make that any of us) because, well, let’s face it: We’re not millionaires.  On average, a pair of pants cost between $5-8 to get hemmed.  Of course, that price could vary depending on fabric, what kind of hem you want, etc.  In general, to hem a basic pair of pants with a basic hem usually costs less than $10.  And let’s be honest: feeling confident about what you’re wearing is worth way more than a $10 bill.

So while I can’t exactly help you get clothes customized for you personally, my suggestion might be able to help you think that they have been.

~J

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Easiest Way to Look More Put Together

  1. I wholeheartedly agree. Pants length are always too long for me (being only 5ft tall) however, I usually use that stuff that you can iron on and it sticks the hem. Very easy, no stitching and costs next to nothing. Win win!!
    I invite you to have a look at our site.
    http://pierotucci.com/clothing/leather_jackets/

    • JennaB says:

      I’ve never heard of those! They sound simple enough too. I’m going to have to check them out–and your website as well! :) Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

