5 Books to Check Out this Fall

For me, it’s never easy to find a good book. Of course, there are the books like Fifty Shades of Grey that have incredible hype surrounding them (and I feel like it’s usually just that–lots of hype that turns into disappointment). But what about the millions of other titles to choose from? Barnes and Noble can be overwhelming to just browse, so I usually choose books based on recommendations from my friends.

My most recent recommendation was for Little Bee by Chris Cleave. It’s a story about refugee from Nigeria who seeks a better life in London. Following her release from a British immigration detention center, and knowing virtually no-one, Little Bee seeks out a couple she met on a beach in her homeland a few years earlier.

The book is told from alternating perspectives of Little Bee and Sarah, the journalist she met on the beach. ย Readers follow their individual struggles while each woman acts as a support system for the other. ย It’s a story about the unlikeliest of friends who use each other to try and escape their personal turmoil. The book is full of dramatic revelations and surprising twists that (I think) for the most part, are difficult to predict. Honestly, I don’t want to tell too much about the book in fear that I’ll spoil some of the “secrets.” But trust me, it’s so good!

Want more suggestions? Other books on my to-read list include:
Room by Emma Donahugh
Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
One Good Deed by Erin McHugh
Moloka’i by Alan Brennert

Do you have any book recommendations? ย Let us know, @20sTweet!

~J

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5 Books to Check Out this Fall

  1. Nicole says:

    Little Bee is a GRRRRREAT book, and so is Room. I haven’t read the other three you’ve suggested. Two years ago, while “home” in Kentucky, I went with my aunt to her book club meeting. They had read and were discussing Room. It was the longest book discussion I had ever been to, yet I didn’t want the night to end!!!! A few months later, I created a book club right here in Texas with a group of ladies from my church and other acquaintances. We meet one Saturday a month and the discussions have been lively (not to mention the delicious food!!!).

    I recommend everybody finding a book club to join, whether it is with a group of friends or even a virtual group online. If you don’t know where to start, check out Oprah’s book club (http://www.oprah.com/book_club.html) and, MY PERSONAL FAVORITE, Real Simple magazine’s No-Obligation Book Club (http://www.realsimple.com/work-life/entertainment/arts-culture/no-obligation-book-club-00000000009249/index.html). It truly is a no-obligation, no-hassle, no-pressure environment. I don’t read every month’s book, but I still check out the discussion pages. And, when I have the extra time, I’ll read along with the group and participate like a real book club. Definitely worth your visit.

    By the way, 20s Friends, y’all know I’m still in love with Mister Fifty Shades …… don’t be hatin’ on my Inner Goddess’s love affair. HAHAHAHAHA =)

    Hugs to you all,
    Nicole @ Three 31

    • JennaB says:

      I really like the “No-Obligation Book Club!” And they’ve chosen some really great books in the past. I just might have to consider signing up ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Nicole says:

        Jenna, if you sign-up to receive their email updates, you’ll get reminders (mostly discussion points of interest) and the opportunity to vote on the next month’s book title. I don’t always participate in discussion (I can only read so many books a month!!!) but I always enjoy reading the book synopsis provided on the survey form. And, with Real Simple, I’ve read books I would have *NEVER* picked up for myself before. That’s always a plus. Happy Reading. =)

  2. ErikaAnn says:

    Hahaha Nicole, I’m in love with Fifty Shades too! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Kimberly C. says:

    I still love reading YA.. I recently read Megan Abbott’s Dare Me and it was really good! But I also love me some Pretty Little Liars.

Leave a Reply

