First World Problems: One Manicure at a Time

I’ve been in denial that summer is (almost!?) over. But with the hurricane season in full swing, and Jenna’s fall fashion posts here on TwentyTweets, I took a good look at my chipped, hot pink, summery nails, and went for a mani-pedi today after work. Fall colors can be fun on nails too, don’t you think?

Speak now, or forever hold your peace. Why do I feel like I’m signing my life away when I answer “yes” to the inevitable question of “you like color?”Β  Sure, what you’ve painted there looks pretty. But that’s not what it looked like in the bottle, and that’s not what I want on my nails. But for some reason, my speak-my-mind, confident personality is no where to be seen when I want to speak up.

I feel rude. Like… I know you just spent x amount of time painting my nails so precisely. How could I honestly sit there and tell you that I hate it? I’ve heard other ladies speak the truth next to me — “No, that’s not what I wanted. I’m sorry, but you’re going to have to find another color and paint them again.” But without fail, my words escape me. Every. Single.Β  Time.

Before you think I’m the world’s biggest drama queen, let me explain. It’s not like I’m always walking out so disappointingly. I’m only ranting about this tonight because I can’t believe that I paid for what’s currently glistening away on the end of my fingers. Even as I’m sitting here typing this – they keep catching the light. And they’re so sparkly, it’s like they’re laughing at me.

I know, I know, there are worst problems in the world. And yes, it’s my fault. But honestly? I asked her to help me match a Shellac polish to the color that I picked out for my toes. That shouldn’t be too hard, right? So we search around, and she hands me a bottle. It looks a little sparkly, but she reassures me that it’ll be really pretty. So I sit down, relax, and let her do her magic. Chatting away, only realizing after she’s completely finished my fingernails how obnoxiously glittery they are. Yikes! And these are supposed to be about the same shade as my feet?

So I’m asking you ladies, why does my confidence escape me? Am I alone in this “can’t tell her I hate it” type of feeling, or have you walked out of the nail salon more than a little disappointed in the past before too?

~E

P.s. – It’s too late to go back tomorrow and have her change the color, right?

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to First World Problems: One Manicure at a Time

  1. Brittany says:

    No, you’re not alone!!! I know that feeling …You don’t want to be so mean and feel like you wasted her time but your nails just aren’t what you wanted to be paying for. SUCKS! But for the record, your nails don’t look that bad!!! Glitter is in!! And your toes look great. πŸ™‚

  2. Stephanie says:

    LOL – don’t feel bad asking. Just like any customer service type of job – it’s all about making the customer happy !

  3. ErikaAnn says:

    Stephanie – that’s SO true. I will definitely be asking next time. And Brittany, haha thanks!

  4. Roxanne says:

    Haha–I can totally relate to this one. It actually reminds me of our Junior Prom. I absolutely HATED my nails–he got the colors and design all wrong! But of course, I didn’t have the guts to speak up because I didn’t want to hurt his feelings. But, you bet my mom heard alllll about how unhappy I was during the car ride home! I have done the same when it came to haircuts, too.

  5. ErikaAnn says:

    Roxanne, feeling that way at the hair salon is the absolute WORST! If my hair looks too different, I run home and re-style it immediately.

    Thanks for following! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

