Raspberry Chicken: Fast, easy, & delicious

One of the best things about having some of my Grandma’s old cookbooks is finding her hand written notes inside. Things like “VG” for very good, “quick fix,” “low fat,” and the amount of weight watchers points penciled in on the corner ofΒ a page leads me to try any one of her recipes.

Now that I’m living on my own, I have more time in the evenings to put some effort into dinner. Most recently, I tried Raspberry Chicken for the very first time. It was a low fat, quick fix according to my Grandma, which basically had my name written all over it. And it was INCREDIBLE–sweet, tangy, and absolutely delicious. Check out this #nofilter picture:

I sent this picture to my mom, who asked if I could make it for her the next that she visits. No problem! Here’s how you can make it:

(Don’t worry, this isn’t an original recipe from my family. If it was, I certainly wouldn’t be sharing it with all of you πŸ˜‰ It’s from the Reader’s Digest Great Chicken Dishes cookbook.)

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil
4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves
2 tablespoons of flour
4 scallions, sliced thin
4 teaspoons of sugar
1/3 cup raspberry vinegar or red wine vinegar (I used red wine vinegar because that’s what I had)
3/4 cup chicken broth
1/2 teaspoon dried tarragon
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons of corn starch blended with 1 teaspoon water
1/2 pint of raspberries

Directions:

  1. Heat oil over medium heat on a large saucepan or skillet. Cover chicken in flour, shaking off excess. Add chicken to pan and saute 4 minutes per side or until golden brown. Transfer chicken to plate.
  2. Add scallions to pan and cook 1 minute. Add sugar and cook approx. 4 minutes or until sugar has melted and is amber in color. Add vinegar and bring to a boil.
  3. Add broth, tarragon, and salt, and bring to a boil. Return chicken to pan, reduce to a simmer, cover, and cook 5 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.
  4. Transfer chicken to dinner plates. Return sauce to boil, whisk in cornstarch mixture, and cook, stirring constantly, until sauce has thickened (about 1 minute). Stir in raspberries. Spoon sauce and raspberries over chicken.

From start to finish, this only took me about a half an hour. To me, the scallions and raspberries complimented each other perfectly.

Have any favorite quick and easy recipes of your own? Share them with us! We’d love to hear from you. Send us an email at twentytweets@gmail.com and we’ll feature it for you on TwentyTweets. πŸ™‚

~E

This entry was posted in Fun, Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

