The Other Red Wine

If I’ve written about wine in posts before, it has almost exclusively dealt with white wine.  Until now, I was never a fan of red.  It was a little too much for me–too spicy and heavy.  I like sweet and fruity, and those two words are almost never associated with red wine.  However, this all changed a couple of weeks ago when I found a delicious red that I can’t help but keep talking about.

It’s a ‘soft red’ to be exact.  Soft reds are lighter and sweeter than other red wines, and is a bit lighter in color as well. It pairs well with meals of lighter fare such as salads.  Personally, I’m not much of a wine connoisseur so I pair soft reds with pretty much anything.  Wine is wine, right?

There are many soft reds out there (although I have found them a bit difficult to locate) but the one I tried is from Newport Vineyards.  TwentyTweets has mentioned Newport Vineyards on quite a few occasions, so it shouldn’t come as a surprise that I’m again raving about how wonderful their wines are.

Crystal Blue is available at Newport Vineyards for $11.99 a bottle.

Once you get your red wine home, there’s a trick to keep in mind before serving.  Red wine likes to “breathe.”  This means, the longer the wine is exposed to the air the better it becomes (of course, I don’t recommend leaving your red wine out for days at a time…).  Experts suggest pouring the wine into the glasses and then allowing it to sit for about ten minutes before serving it to your guests.  All that waiting will enhance the flavor and make for a better glass of wine.

Do you have a favorite soft red?  Another red wine you think we should try?  Let us know @20sTweet.

~J

 
This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Other Red Wine

  1. Brittany says:

    I feel the same way. Regular red wine is just too much. My favorite soft red is Oliver ( http://www.oliverwinery.com/index.cfm?method=storeproducts.showdrilldown&productid=565df53e-1cc4-fbb6-2382-c63e1e46bb23&isMarketingURL=1& ) – I let it sit and actually drop a few ice cubes in the glass! Chilled wine is the only type of wine for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

