The Indoor, Outdoors Biking Experience

A few weeks ago, my mom convinced me to tag along to her weekly bike class. I haven’t been to a spin or bike class in quite some time, but I do cardio 3x a week and figured it would be a piece of cake. If she could do it, I could do it, right?

Ten minutes in, and I was already impressed by my mother. This was no ordinary class–this was an X-Bike Class. The idea was the same; riding indoors, moving to the beat of the music, cranking resistance, and building your heart rate. But what makes the X-Biking Indoor Mountain Bike Experience unique is just that – it stimulates a mountain biking experience.

Olympic mountain bike coaches and world champion cyclists took part in designing this indoor fitness class. The build of the bike, spin of the wheel, and choreographed ride makes you feel like you’re climbing up mountains, making left and right turns, and even cruising downhill on an out of control bike (thanks to the side-to-side mobility of the handle bars). It’s an interval-based, 30 minute workout. I was dripping with sweat by the end of the ride, and more than impressed with my mom (and her fellow riders) who participate in this class 3x a week.

X-Bike works your legs, arms, core, stabilizers, and cardiovascular system. Just as if you were riding outdoors, you’re forced out to get up out of the seat, accelerate, and sprint. The class ends with a coasting, full recovery aspect, similarly to how you might coast at the end of an outdoor trail.

I’ll be honest, the hardest part for me was the cardiovascular workout. Here I was, thinking that I do sufficient cardio workouts every week on my own! It was a challenge, but the group atmosphere was encouraging. Our instructor was phenomenal; she knew each rider in the class individually, and knew how to push their limits. Since I was brand new on the first day, she went easy on me. The next day, she had a better idea of my capabilities. She kept yelling for me to increase my resistance, and even had me “climb” a few extra hills before the end of the class. Needless to say, I was drenched and exhausted when I walked out the door.

If you’ve never heard of X-Bike before, I encourage you to check it out. Read more about what makes this class “fitter, funner, and faster” on the X-Bike website.

You know what they say… Never assume. I assumed it would be easy, and that’s a notion that couldn’t be any farther from the truth.

~E

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

