Spinning: Another Way To Toss Your Salad

Sorry for the sexual innuendo, but I just had to. Because for the longest time, I struggled with completely draining my freshly cut lettuce before making a salad. Talk about first world pains, right? Anyways, thanks to my Mom (who’s still teaching me little tricks around the kitchen), I now have crisper romaine than I’ve ever had before. How?

By spinning my salad. If you’ve ever had soggy, water-logged salad before, you’ll appreciate the ease and convenience of this new kitchen essential. My OXO Good Grips Salad Spinner has become my new best friend for meal preparation.

It’s super easy to use. Simply chop your dry lettuce and place it in the basket (I’ve fit up to three romaine heads in the basket at once). Then, rinse it through like you normally would in any kitchen strainer.

Then, the fun part. Place the basket back in the spinner, secure the lid, and spin!

The OXO spinner that I have recommends a few quick pumps, then a push on the brake. Remove the lid and pull out the basket… you’ll be surprised at how much water was hanging on!

Spin again, if you please. There’s no way you could have removed this much water from your lettuce by simply tossing it. Now, it stays fresh longer and is crisper than ever before. The best part? Easy storage! Say goodbye to tupperware.

Do you have any other must-haves for the kitchen? Share them with us @20sTweet!

~E

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spinning: Another Way To Toss Your Salad

  1. What did we do before the salad spinner was invented?!?! We so love ours, and it is a great way to get my Hubby into the kitchen to help, since he totally loves to see exactly how fast he can get that sucker spinning! LOL!

    If you don’t have a microplane for zesting, that comes in handy, too. Invest in REALLY GOOD cookware and knives, and they will last you forever. We got a set of Henkel knives and a knifeblock for a wedding present (25 yrs ago) and we still use them today.

  2. ErikaAnn says:

    I just got my first set of good knives – it’s literally AMAZING how sharp they are! Makes a difference in food prep for sure. Thanks for the ideas & thanks for following 🙂

  3. This post makes a LOT of sense! What would we do without it? When you have some time, do drop by my blog. I just made some custard and would love to know what to think of my recipe 🙂

  4. ErikaAnn says:

    I’ll check it out! Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

