Reality TV: Are You “Keeping Up?”

They’re back! The Kardashian fam premiered season 7 of their show Keeping Up with the Kardashians on Sunday, 5/20. What was their message? “Family comes first.” Or was it? After Kim’s infamously short marriage, I guess it’s a good thing that she’s realizing how and why family is so important. But between Kris and Bruce’s bickering, DNA testing for Khloé, and the power struggle over DASH… They still seem to be a bit of a mess. New season, same drama. And yet, we watch it.

Why? Personally, their self-absorbed drama really annoys me. But I know I’m not the only twenty-something tuning in to keep up with this dysfunctional family. Is it scripted? I couldn’t say. But it’s entertaining, right? I must admit… the girls are beautiful. And since we’re supposedly watching their unscripted, daily lives, it really is kind of interesting. I’m not sure there’s any real talent on the show… but millions of people follow along as the seasons continue year after year. The spin-offs (K&K Take New York, Khloé & Lamar, and K&K Take Miami) have been just as successful. It’s mind-boggling, really.

Does this say something about our generation? Sure. Some of us probably know more about Kim and Kanye’s romance (that’s apparently not going to be featured on the show) than we do about the upcoming U.S. Presidential election. As a news junkie, I may or may not be guilty of this. Thankfully, I try to keep up with what’s going on around the world just as much as I do with celebs. But the Kardashians aren’t the first reality stars to overpower our generation. Need I mention Snooki and the rest of the Jersey Shore cast?

My point? After a long day, we’re not always in the mood to hear what’s going on in this society and economy. We’d rather unwind with some mind-numbing entertainment. Since the Kardashian empire is far from over, Keeping Up with the Kardashians seem like a perfect choice. Now, I’m not saying you should tune out the true (and sometimes harsh) reality of the world, but I am telling you that a little bit of reality TV is okay.

Looking for another release during the day? Check out Kim Kardashian’s Instagram account. I love hate it. Anytime I refresh my feed, Kim’s face (in some awkwardly attractive expression) is a given. And I follow it.

Are you a reality show junkie? If not the Kardashians, who are your faves? Share them with us below or @20sTweet!

~E 

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reality TV: Are You “Keeping Up?”

  1. msprof says:

    I think the show is also interesting to watch because, though the Kardashians are by no means intellectual, they ARE fiercely ambitious in a dizzyingly calculated way (except for maybe Rob), which makes for great television. If they really were as vapid as the press makes them out to be, we wouldn’t watch at all; American have SOME taste. That’s why Paris Hilton’s shows bomb; she’s truly dislikable/empty! Kim and the gang DO have a kind of work ethic and drive, yet no particular talent. One thing’s for sure: they look great, and Kim challenges the notion that only skinny girls can be icons.

  2. ErikaAnn says:

    The Kardashians are always on the go… Again… I totally agree! Thanks for following TwentyTweets 🙂

Leave a Reply

