Something to Add to Your Grocery Shopping List

For the past month or so, I’ve been on a sort of healthy-eating kick.  Now, coming from me, this is rather huge.  I’m a total junk food junkie and cupcake connoisseur!  I’ve always been good about going to the gym regularly, so I decided to kick my new health-conscious attitude into high gear.

Most recently, I was talking to a friend about healthy meals.  She mentioned that one of her favorite meals is salmon, spinach salad and quinoa (pronounced keen-wah).  Now, I immediately ruled out the salmon (no fish for me, thanks). Spinach, I could tolerate (although I do prefer the much less healthy romaine), and quinoa?  What the heck is that?  Well my friends, it’s delicious.

Quinoa kind of reminds me of brown rice.  It’s a seed that you boil, and when it’s finished, it’s kind of fluffy like rice.  It may be similar to rice, but the health benefits of quinoa are far greater.  For starters, quinoa is packed with protein and is gluten-free.

It’s super easy to make (even I can’t mess it up).  You just put 1 part quinoa to 2 parts water* and boil in the microwave (for about 5 minutes).  Then, let it stand for a few minutes to absorb any remaining water, and viola!  A perfect side dish!

The quinoa I used was from Trader Joe’s, where it’s only $3.99 for a 16 oz. box!  There are also recipes online that suggest adding vegetables for a little extra flavor, or adding chicken to make it a more filling meal.

Try it out! It’s cheap, full of nutrients, and delicious.

~J

*You can substitute chicken broth for water for a little extra flavor.

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

