The Best Rainy Day Invention? Possibly…

Just last week, I was talking to my co-worker about a fashion conundrum: what shoes should you wear when it rains?  Don’t get me wrong, I love a pair of cozy rain boots, but they’re not exactly high on the list of most fashionable pieces of footwear–especially if you’re not in college anymore aren’t walking around outside in the rain for long periods of time.  As I’ve said before, I love ballet flats.  However, when it rains I don’t think there is anything more uncomfortable than walking around in soggy shoes with wet feet.

Our conversation didn’t produce much of a solution so I just dropped the subject.  This past weekend however, I discovered the answer to my question. J. Crew has invented something fabulous:

“Rainy Day Bow Ballet Flats”

They’re rubber ballet flats (exactly the same thick, durable material your rain boots are made out of) with small holes on the side to let out water, and a super cute little bow to jazz them up.

They’re completely sold out on the J. Crew website (where they sell for $58) BUT I found them at the J. Crew Outlet in Wrentham, MA for less than half the price!  Only $20!  Does it get better than that?

The outlet has them in black, silver, bright yellow and coral.  I had to resist the urge to buy all 4 (and trust me, it was very hard to resist) and instead settled on just buying the black.

For now, I say bring on the rain! I can’t wait to slip these on my feet.

~J

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Best Rainy Day Invention? Possibly…

  1. amanda says:

    do these run true to size?

    • twentytweetscontributor says:

      They do! Even though they’re slip-on’s I have no trouble keeping them on my feet (even when they’re all wet)!

      • amanda says:

        thank you so much! i want buy these online but wasn’t sure because it’s final sale. you definitely helped me make my decision 🙂

Leave a Reply

