“This Dress is Dry Clean Only, Melanie!”

Every time I think of something that’s “Dry Clean Only,” I think of the Spice Girls.  Remember that scene in Spice World where Posh (my favorite Spice Girl, naturally) falls off the boat and says, “This dress is dry clean only, Melanie!”  In case you don’t, check out the scene below:

 

Two weeks ago I was packing for my vacation and took my favorite dress out of the closet.  To put it frankly, it looked like hell.  My closet doesn’t exactly have too much extra room, so after a few months of being squeezed between other clothes, it was a little wrinkled and in need of dry cleaning.  Doesn’t sound like a big deal, right? Wrong.  I needed the dress dry cleaned in a few hours and guess what?  Almost everywhere I looked didn’t have same day service.

So that left me one option. Do it myself. Risky.

I went to CVS and bought Dryel, an at-home, dry cleaning product.  I was quite nervous about ruining my dress, but knew of other people who had used it in the past with positive results.  Not to mention that I didn’t exactly have any other options.

The product itself is easy to use.  Everything you need comes in the kit (priced around $10).  First, you spray your garment with the freshening product and place it inside the bag with the Dryel cleaning cloth.  Next, put the bag inside the dryer (putting the dryer on medium heat) for about 30 minutes.  Immediately hang up the garments to help the wrinkles fall out.

While I didn’t exactly love it, it got the job done.  Overall, the dress smelled fresh but the fabric itself didn’t really feel clean.  Worst of all, it didn’t completely get rid of the wrinkles (which is what I really wanted to do in the first place!)  Disappointing.

Overall, I would recommend this product if you were in the same position as me.  Use it as a last resort.  It’s cheap enough that if you do have to eventually go get it dry cleaned  (like I did), it won’t break the bank.

~J

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “This Dress is Dry Clean Only, Melanie!”

  1. ErikaAnn says:

    I’ve used dryel pretty frequently actually… Sending my dress pants to the cleaners can be pretty expensive on a regular basis. So all winter, I was cleaning my pants with dryel once a week. It freshened them up, made them fit better, and got the job done. Like you said, they may not have been “clean,” but at least they felt and looked like it. 🙂

  2. haha Jenna you are TOTALLY the Posh of TwentyTweets! Just sayin’ 🙂

Leave a Reply

