TwentyTweets Beauty Product Guide: Body

This is it!  Our 5-week series is coming to a close; the last installment of our Beauty Product Guide.  It may be the last one, but we’re going out with a bang.  We’re talking why we love men’s razors more than women’s, hair conditioner instead of shaving cream, and body butter vs. body lotion.

********************************************************************************

Razor

Gillette Fusion ProGlide Razor $10

Taylor: “I actually have always used men’s razors because they give a closer shave. Most men use a razor to shave their facial hair, and it’s a sensitive area, so using it on my legs is perfect! It gives a closer and smoother shave, it also has 5 blades compared to a woman’s 3 or 4 blades. Give it a try!”

Gillete’s Venus Divine $10 (for package with 1 razor and 2 refill cartridges)

Erika: “This 3-blade razor gives me a close shave without knicking my skin. I love the moisture strips that leave my legs feeling smooth. I’m not your shave-every-single-day type of girl, so I need a razor that gets super close each time. The Divine razor has been the best choice by far for me!”

Bic Soleil Bella Disposable Razors Package of 3 Razors for $6.50

Jenna: “I only really like disposable razors.  To me, the ones (like Venus) with the removable heads just get grimy from soap and shaving cream.  I love the Soleil Bella razors because they have 4 blades which gives me a nice, close shave.  They’re also durable unlike some of the other disposable razors (especially the ones that only have one blade).”

Kate: “Cheap, easy and disposable! They come in fun colors, too.”

********************************************************************************

Shaving Cream

Skintimate Shave Gel $4

Taylor: “I stick to the Skintimate brand, in the winter I try to use the Skin Therapy for dry skin because my skin is usually a lot drier in the winter. If I’m not using that one I like to use their Raspberry Rain!”

Jenna: “I can’t stand cheap shaving creams that you need handfuls of just to get a good lather.  With Skintimate, a small amount goes a long way!”

Skintimate’s Skin Therapy Gel $4

Erika: “I’ve used all three – the dry skin, baby soft, and sensitive skin formulas. Which one I buy really depends on my mood, but I would definitely recommend trying one of these three! They’re “lotionized” with Vitamin E, aloe, baby oil, antioxidants, and more. Perfect for shaving extra sensitive spots like your armpits and… Whatever else you shave. They smell SO good and leave your skin silky smooth.”

Hair Conditioner

Kate: “None! I use a little conditioner… does the trick!”

********************************************************************************

Body Lotion

Jergens Shea Butter Lotion $6

Kate: “I love the smell of Shea Butter, it’s not too overpowering and the lotion keeps my skin smooth and soft all day long.”

The Body Shop’s Brazil Nut Body Butter $18

Erika: “I don’t use lotion, I use butter. Once you try it, you won’t go back to regular lotion. It doesn’t leave a “wet skin” type of feeling, allowing me to dress right after applying it. My favorite scent is the Brazil Nut, which is a fresh, nutty smell that’s not overbearing. One of the ingredients is cocoa butter… Need I say more?”

Bath and Body Works Triple Moisture Body Cream $12.50

Jenna: “I can’t stand greasy body lotions (you might remember I actually blogged about this earlier in the week) so I prefer to use body butter or cream.  This cream from Bath and Body Works comes in all of their signature scents, is long lasting and is thick (aka it’s actually getting rid of my dry skin and not just slathering my body in oil and fragrance).”

Cocoa Butter

Taylor: “I use cocoa butter after I take a shower, no particular brand I usually just pick some up when I need it.”

********************************************************************************

Body Wash

Dove Exfoliating Bar Soap $8.50 for a 6 pack

Kate: “For as long as I can remember, I’ve always used bar soap. I just can’t make the switch! I love the exfoliating beads in the soap– they leave my skin really smooth and the smell is very fresh!”

Dove’s Deep Moisture Nourishing Body Wash $5.50

Erika: “All-natural and nourishing. And it smells SO good…”

Bath and Body Works Shower Gel $11

Taylor: “I love anything from Bath and Body Works! Especially Country Apple and Sweat Pea! They smell amazing!”

********************************************************************************

Body Scrub

The Body Shop’s Brazil Nut Body Scrub $18

Erika: “If you couldn’t already tell, I’m after soft, smooth skin. This all-natural scrub gently exfoliates any dead skin and only needs to be used once a week to see results. This, like the body butter, contains cocoa butter, and uses primrose seeds and crushed walnut shells to exfoliate.”

********************************************************************************

Deodorant

Secret Original Invisible Solid $3

Taylor: “I use Secret Original Invisible Solid in Shower Fresh Scent or Spring Breeze!”

Dove Original Clean in Invisible Solid $3.50

Jenna: “I hate when deodorants get all clumpy (disgusting, I know) after you wear it for a couple of hours and leave white residue on your clothing.  Dove deodorant doesn’t do either of these things, and that’s why it’s the only deodorant I’ll use.  Fruity scents aren’t for me.  I have perfume for that.”

Erika: “I have a history of itchy armpits and hives from using the wrong kind of deodorant (Sorry if that’s a little TMI). But I was able to fix this problem early with Dove’s Original Clean Scent. (In case you’re wondering, those fruity and/or fresh shower scents are a no-go for people with sensitive skin). It’s easy on your skin… Plus, this antiperspirant smells great ALL DAY”

Degree Women Natureffects Honeysuckle & Tea Tree Oil Invisible Solid $4.75

Kate: “I love this deodorant! It works all day long and has a great scent. I’m never nervous to get too close if I’m wearing a sleeveless shirt… I know my deodorant’s got me covered!”

********************************************************************************

Body Spray

Sexy Little Things in Noir $25

Taylor: “I LOVE the Sexy Little Things – Noir scent from Victoria’s Secret. It’s pretty to spray on before going out! It’s a very sexy smell!”

********************************************************************************

Self Tanner

Jergens Natural Glow Express Body Moisturizer $9

Taylor: “I try to use the Jergens Natural Glow Express Body Moisturizer. I don’t use it daily so I can’t really comment on its results, but I’ve heard good things! I’m gonna try and keep up with it before the summer so I can have a nice pre-tan!”

********************************************************************************

Are there any other series you want to see in the future?  Let us know @20sTweet.

~J

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

