The Pursuit of Perfect Lashes

We all want them: big, beautiful, mascara-commercial like eyelashes that practically create wind when you blink. And I am no different; I too went in search of magnificent eyelashes fit to dazzle and awe.

Unfortunately, I’m no makeup expert. I own exactly one eye shadow brush and one blush brush, and I’m told that this is not a sufficient arsenal of beauty supplies. In light of TwentyTweets Beauty Product Guide: Eyes (Part 1 and Part 2), I had to start my own quest for the perfect eyelashes. I first turned to, duh, mascara. I particularly like Rimmel London’s Scandaleyes in Extreme Black.

It’s dramatic; it thickens and lengthens eyelashes beautifully. And this was perfect for an everyday makeup look.

But I wanted more! What about those nights out? What about for stage appearances, acting and dancing? I decided the logical next step was fake eyelashes. This was a new and murky world for me. I had all kinds of questions. What brand to choose? How much is too much? Am I supposed to apply these by myself and will I lose an eye in the process?

I was fairly intimidated by the selection a mere CVS had to offer, but I eventually settled on the Ardell Fashion Lashes Starter Kit (a frugal $5).

The kit turned out to be perfect for a beginner. The lash glue is easy to apply and if it happens to glob on the lashes, all you have to do is use a toothpick to smooth it out. The applicator was probably the best part of the kit; it keeps your fingers clean and doesn’t smudge your previously applied makeup like using your fingers probably would!

However, there are a few things that I wish I had known before I attempted to wear them for the first time:

  • You MUST cut the lash strip down to fit the length of your lash line. If you don’t, you run the risk of having eyelashes longer than your actual lash line. It looks kind of funny.
  • Don’t completely close your eye when applying the lash strip. Keeping it half closed is closer to the curved shape of the strip and it will look more natural than the straight line of a closed lid.
  • It saves your own lashes if you use a little makeup remover (or even olive oil as a natural substitute) to soften the lash glue before you remove your falsies.
  • Lastly, false eyelashes can and should be cleaned after use! I’ve seen a few different tutorials… One calls for the fake lashes to be soaked in eye makeup remover, and another for them to be soaked in alcohol. My money is on the makeup remover. Use tweezers to gently pull any excess glue off the lash strip. It will lengthen the life of your falsies and prevent bacteria from growing on the lashes.

So get out there all you twenty-somethings, and explore your eyelash fashion choices! Do you have a favorite brand? Share them with us @20sTweet!

*J

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Pursuit of Perfect Lashes

  1. lauren says:

    Hey ladies! I recommend ‘Lash Lust’ Volume definition mascara by Victoria’s Secret…its great for coating, lengthening, and volumizing..the brush is unlike any mascara brush I have ever used because it literally works on every lash! It about $12 and you can find it with the other make up and beauty supplies near the registers at any VS store! Xoxo

  2. ErikaAnn says:

    Thanks, Lauren! We’ll have to check that out 🙂

Leave a Reply

