Keeping in Touch vs. Telling too Much

Oh, Facebook. Most (if not all) of us have one.  It’s the place to reconnect with old friends stalk your ex.  It’s the place that originally made us all think, “It’s okay to creep!”  Basically, it ruins lives.  Kidding.  But I do feel that Facebook does more evil than good.  That being said, I have one and go on it regularly!

While we all might love Facebook, I think it’s safe to say that there are some things that belong offline and kept to yourself.

Cleaning Out my Friends List!  Go ahead.  I don’t care.  Delete me.  My “real” friends are keeping me anyways (I hope…).  There’s no reason to announce that I’m going to be judged and then decided whether I’m interesting enough to keep.

I’m Pregnant! Congratulations! I don’t mind if you share your happiness on Facebook with friends and family.  What I DO mind, however, is you posting a picture of the pregnancy test reading “Pregnant” to show up in my newsfeed.  I know what’s all over that little stick.  I’m officially disgusted.  It also shows me that you have way too much time on your hands if you’re going to position the test on a table, counter, blanket, etc. and take a picture of it.

Telling me everything that happened in your day.  Woke up and went to the gym for 3 hours–awesome workout!  Headed over to Whole Foods for a nice healthy lunch and then went to work.  Just got home and now I’m cooking *insert name of husband/boyfriend* dinner.  Mmmm! It smells so good.  Then we’ll be relaxing and watching movies.  Perfect Tuesday night!  Admit it, you see at least 4 of these cringe-worthy statuses daily.

Look at Me! This includes any of the following:

      • Kissy Face Photos
      • Mirror Shots (go back to MySpace)
      • Flexing Your Muscles for the camera (DON’T even get me started on this one)
      • Chugging beer (or being just a sloppy drunk in general)

It’s a sad reality that all of these need to be addressed.

“Worst Day Ever” Statuses. This also includes the “I can’t believe that happened,” “I can’t believe he/she did that,” and “I’m so upset.” Cryptic much?  You’re begging for attention and I don’t like it.  However, that’s not even the worst part.  The worst part is when someone undoubtedly asks, “What happened?!” or “Are you okay?!” and the miser responds…”I don’t want to talk about it.” Ok. That status was pointless then, wasn’t it?

Animals. Maybe I don’t get this because I don’t have (or want) a pet.  A picture or two of your furry friend? Fine.  Something cute they did occasionally?  Feel free.  However, when your entire Facebook is consumed by animal facts, pictures, antidotes and more…it’s time to find a hobby.

What do you especially hate on Facebook? (I’m sure you’re not the only one who has a problem with it.)  Let us know @20sTweet!

~J

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Keeping in Touch vs. Telling too Much

  1. Ugh I hate the cryptic statuses! Also, I have yet to see the pic of the pregnancy test, but, I get really bothered by the belly picture…especially bare belly…don’t know why, but updates of pics of how big your belly is getting weirds me out!

  2. Pingback: Time for Some Twitter101 |

Leave a Reply

