I Hate to Admit this, But…

So I have something to confess.  I was wrong.  Remember back in December when I told you about the worst fashion trends of 2011?  Well, #5 of my list was Colored Denim.  (I think you can guess where this is going…)

Ever since I wrote that post, I’ve seen the brightly colored jeans everywhere.  I mean, I’ve seen it in stores, on my friends, on my co-workers, people writing about them on Twitter and Facebook (I’m serious).  It’s like it’s been haunting me… Telling me, ‘We’re not so bad!’ Okay. Well, I guess the consensus was right and I was wrong (I guess that wasn’t so hard to admit…) because they’re really not that bad.  In fact, they’re really starting to grow on me.

My personal favorites right now are bright green (not lime green), light pink, coral (I am obsessed with anything coral colored) and red denim.  Gap has a great selection of colored denim, all priced at about $70.

Personally, I’m not really into the whole color-blocking trend (mixing two colors that wouldn’t normally go together such as hot pink and red) so I prefer to wear colored denim with basic colors–white, grey, black and the like.


I may have changed my mind, but there are still some things that should be avoided when wearing colored denim.  For example, please don’t match your cobalt blue jeans with a cobalt blue shirt.  That’s not a cute look.  What you should add is a cute pair of flats of wedges.  Don’t just buy them because their the “in” thing.  Find a pair that compliments your figure and make sure you’ll actually wear them.

Christie Flare Pant at Victoria Secret (in Red) $49.50

1969 Lightweight Always Skinny Skimmer Jeans (in Rose) $69.95

CJ by Cookie Johnson ‘Grace’ Bootcut Stretch Jeans (in Apple) $145

~J

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Hate to Admit this, But…

  1. I got my green pair of stretch skinnies at Target 🙂

  2. Sammy says:

    Women are still afraid of them, so I reaped the benefit. I scored three pair at Macys. Originally $69.50, I got them for $19.99. WOW $60.00 for THREE pair of jeans: Burgandy, Cobalt Blue and Orange.
    I’m actually afraid of the orange, but I LOVE the color so we’ll see if I’m brave enough to wear those.

    • JennaB says:

      I’m going to need to go to Macys and see if I can score some of my own! I’m really loving orange right now too!

Leave a Reply

