Aspiring Photographer Channels Socrates for Future Success

Twenty-somethings come in all shapes and sizes, from an infinite amount of backgrounds, and enjoy a plethora of different activities… But a lot of us share one common goal: to succeed in what ever it is that makes us happy. Brittany Gomes is no different. I had the opportunity to chat with her, Brittni to Brittany (cute, right?), and instantly adored her strive and determination, along with her love for that very emotion: l-o-v-e. She shares her story, and passion for photography, exclusively with TwentyTweets.

*****************************************************************************************

Brittni: Who is Brittany Gomes?

Brittany Gomes: Who is Brittany Gomes? I am the mother to two adorable Brittany Spaniels; I have been with my high school sweetheart since 2003; I am always loyal to family and friends; and most importantly: a photographer. I am also a lover of historic architecture, travel, New England sports teams, and musicals. It should also be noted that I am a self-proclaimed Europhile, Tudor obsessed, ice hockey player, and I have a lifetime subscription to Vogue.

BH: When did you pick up photography? Has it been a longtime interest of yours, or is it a fairly new passion?

BG: I have loved photography for as long as I can remember.  I even had one of those Fisher Price toy cameras way back when you had to pretend and toy companies didn’t make functioning cameras for 2-year-olds.  That camera was definitely one of my favorite toys.  I was always “taking pictures” of family members with it.  Since then, I have spent my years upgrading from that Fisher Price toy camera.  

BH: Are you schooled in the subject or did you pick it up on your own? Or combination of the two? Explain.

BG: I would have to say it was a combination of the two.  As a student at Salve Regina University, I majored in Cultural and Historical Preservation and minored in Photography.  I spent my childhood loving photography and took my first photography class in high school.  It wasn’t until college that I had my first “real” photography class.  I learned the basic elements of photography including developing my own film and prints.  It was a great learning experience and it has definitely changed and developed the way that I see through my viewfinder today.  

BH: Who was or what were your main motivators to live out this dream (within the world of photography and otherwise)?

BG: For the majority of my years studying at Salve, the last thing that I expected was that I would end up starting my own photography business.  I thought, like most people in college, that I would find a job in the field I had majored in.  Things began to change for me when my boyfriend’s brother got married the summer of 2007.  As always, I had my camera with me and of course took photos at their wedding, but I realized that they weren’t just snapshots, they were something more.  It was that day that I fell in love with wedding photography.  

BH: Do you rely on photography as your career or do you do other things on the side? If so, what?

BG: I have been building my business slowly and steadily since 2009.  As of now I still work an office job twice a week to have a steady paycheck to supplement what I make with my photo jobs. I am hoping within the next year or two that my business will be successful enough that I will not need any outside paychecks.

BH: What are you favorite things to photograph and why?

BG: I enjoy photographing so many different things.  If I had to narrow it down, my favorite things to photograph would be: historic architecture, fashion photography, and of course LOVE.  Historic Architecture is a passion of mine because I love it enough to have majored in historic preservation in college.  There is just something about imagining all of the people who have been in these buildings and how people and the buildings themselves have changed throughout their existence.   Fashion photography gives me the chance to be creative and think of different concepts. My sister Taylor (a TwentyTweets contributor, looking hot at right) is my favorite model! Love is amazing and a privilege to capture with my camera.  Whether it is a couple in love, the love between parents and their children, or pets and their people, love is the most wonderful thing in this world.  

BH: What is your ultimate dream?

BG: That is a tough question! I suppose my ultimate dream is to live a happy and meaningful life.  There are several things that I would like to accomplish in order to achieve this.  1. Get married and have children.  2. For my photography business to be a success and help provide for my family by doing something I love.  3. To continue to travel and have many more adventures with people I love.  I believe if I do my best to live by Socrates’ famous statement, “The unexamined life is not worth living,” then I will be able to live this dream.  

A very inspirational interview with a twenty-something just like the rest of us! All photos you see in this post are Brittany Gomes originals. Beautiful, right? (Especially the one of TwentyTweeter Taylor!)  If you are interested in more from Miss Gomes or have a special event that you would like to have photographed, be sure to visit her Facebook fan page here or contact her directly at brittanylgomes@gmail.com.

~B

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

