Looking for a Job? You Need to Read This…

Warning: Nerdy Post (but well worth your time)!

It sure as hell isn’t easy finding a job these days… And don’t even get me starting on find a “perfect” entry-level job. So when I found a book that promised to help me find and secure a great job, I was all over it.

This book is more than just ‘what should I wear to my interview.’  Can I Wear My Nose Ring to the Interview? is a start-to-finish guide about the job hunting process.  Topics range from networking to cover letters (my least favorite thing in the world), to what to do once you’ve landed your “dream job.”  There are lots of helpful examples, hints, and answers for those annoying “Tell me about yourself” and “What are some of your weaknesses” questions that interviewers always seem to ask.

The whole time that I was reading, I had my resume and cover letter open and was constantly making adjustments.  I originally borrowed this book from the library, but after frequently referring back to it, I just ended up buying it.  A bonus: you can get this book for as low as $7.00 here. (Currently, this is the lowest selling price although that number may change based on the availability of the book.)

With real life antidotes, this book will help you become well-versed in what not to say in an interview, what you should write on a cover letter, and what you should avoid putting on a resume (I’ll admit… Some of the suggestions actually surprised me).  This book is SO worth it if you’re interested in successfully marketing yourself… It might even help you secure that first (and second) great interview.

If you’re already working that 9-5, this book still might be helpful to read.  Honestly, can you ever be too prepared?  I don’t think so.

Ok. Nerdy rant over.  I promise that next time I’ll be posting, it’ll be about some ugly fashion trend, a Michael Kors coat that I’m dying to have, or some alcohol infused dessert for you to try next… aka my usual kind of post. 🙂

~J

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking for a Job? You Need to Read This…

  1. Speaking of nose rings…A girl interview at my job…to be my assistant, and she wore her nose ring! And not just a stud on the side of her nose…that would be nice compare to what she had. She had the cow-like bar through the middle of her nose!!! Super nice girl, but I don’t know if I would want her greeting clients! We TREAT animals; we and NOT the animals!

  2. ErikaAnn says:

    That’s unbelievable! Maybe she should pick up this book 🙂

    Thanks for the tips, Jenna!

Leave a Reply

