Spring’s Cringe-Worthy Trend

What the heck is a peplum?  Do you eat it? No.  Try again.  It’s something that you’ll hopefully not be wearing this Spring.

As fashion-obsessed as I am, I only found out what peplum was about 3 weeks ago.  I had seen the style before (and didn’t like it), but never knew what it was called.  Now that I know what it is, I’ve seen the style everywhere including the Spring Issue of InStyle, on the catwalk, in The Zoe Report, and on the red carpet.

Most recently, Tina Fey wore a navy Carolina Herrera peplum gown to the 2012 Oscars:

Peplum has been called one of the “hottest trends” for Spring 2012, “sexy” and “on fire,” and a “major” trend.  I couldn’t disagree more.  This is one look that I will not be rocking.

Picture was taken from: ScoopCharlotte.com

Sorry, I just don’t like it!  Who needs extra fabric around the waist, making it look bigger, or to drawing attention to it?   Yes, the 80’s inspired style (supposedly) makes your waist look slimmer, but is it really worth adding extra ruffles and layers of fabric to your hips?  Not for me.  Even when I see it on other people (models included)… I’m not a fan.

Still want to know more? Alright… Well Smartstyleguide.com breaks down the basics of peplum for us, including the two types (fitted and and flared) and how to wear them.  I suggest you check it out if you are thinking of crossing into peplum territory.  Personally, even the fitted style isn’t slim enough for me.  There is a part of me that feels guilty for not being so in love with it like everyone else seems to be… But I really don’t see it as flattering… Sorry.

Of course, we all have different body types (so maybe it’ll look fabulous on you), but this style is most definitely not for me. I’m ready for it to go away… Now.

~J

This entry was posted in Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

