Sorry I’m not Sorry for this PSA

It’s not a secret that I think taking care of your body and health are two (if not the same) very important things. Another fave is to see the elderly working up a sweat in the gym. These folks show you that just because “getting ready for bikini season” may no longer apply (but really, who says it shouldn’t?) they know that they’re still accountable for what they eat, how much they sleep, workout, and take care of their bodies in general.

So let me back up a second. Tonight, after one of the hardest TBT (Total Body Training) classes that I’ve been to in a while, I was following one of the “regulars” out into the parking lot. This lady looks really good for her age and I’m pretty sure that she’s never missed a class. She’s one of those ladies that you notice right away because you’re impressed with how she never gives up. With that said, you can only imagine the HORROR I felt as I watched her pull out a cigarette and light up as we were walking out the door. Who the f*ck still smokes in this day and age?!?!? Excuse my language, but HONESTLY. Any and all respect that I had for this woman went right out the window. I literally will never look at her in the same way ever again.

If you’re going to take care of your body, then TAKE CARE OF IT. My roommates and I just had a discussion about younger kids, teenagers, and twenty-somethings who you might still see smoking. Like seriously?! It hasn’t been 40 years. There’s absolutely no reason for it and you look stupid doing it. Get a patch and quit that disgusting habit before you end up like this:

(And for the record, this is one of the saddest PSA’s that I’ve ever seen. Don’t say I didn’t warn you…)

 

It’s terrible, I know. Maybe I’m just feeling extra sensitive tonight because of the older woman who I saw smoking in the parking lot. I’m sure it also has something to do with the fact that I’ve lost both of my grandmothers, who both admittedly smoked in their twenties, but stopped as soon as they had kids. They lived long and healthy lives, but life is definitely a lot shorter than you think. Twenty-somethings, remember, that what you’re putting, doing, and how you’re treating your body NOW will indeed catch up to you and effect your later life. Haven’t you seen and heard enough?

Am I overreacting? Being too sensitive? Sorry I’m not sorry. But I’d love to hear from you via @20sTweet!

~E

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sorry I’m not Sorry for this PSA

  1. Stephanie says:

    Oh my, what a sad commercial. Couldn’t agree more. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

