How Jeremih Successfully Celebrates Birthdays Better

Chris Brown and Rihanna are causing a stir (yet again) in the entertainment industry due to their most recent collaboration on Rihanna’s song “Birthday Cake” off of her most recent album Talk the Talk. This drama dates back to February 2009 when the controversial altercation between the two took place in Brown’s vehicle after (according to a leaked police report) he received a text message from another woman.Β  We definitely do not condone domestic violence and we do not agree with any of the actions that took place during this event, but any personal opinions besides that will be left out here. What I’m more interested in discussing is the song that the two R&B stars recently released together. Once again, this was a controversial move for the two, but I’m going to focus on the actual music here, not any of the underlying circumstances.

Was their remix to Rihanna’s song “Birthday Cake” even worth the drama that came along with it? I’m going to go with: nope, not at all. I will admit that I am a fan (musically) of the two artists. I have enjoyed previous songs from both and was actually intrigued by this new release. Once I had the chance to listen, though, I was completely turned off! I usually like Rihanna’s sexual image and undertone to her music, but this time I feel like it fell flat. She may have been trying too hard or the song just doesn’t mesh well with me. Either way, I definitely will not be playing this song much again…if ever. Honestly, it’s kind of annoying. Take a listen for yourself.

 

After quickly hitting the next button on my iTunes, I started to think back to another birthday-related song and began to compare the two in my head. Who remembers Jeremihs upbeat “Birthday Sex” from back in 2009? Personally, I think this celebratory song is so much better, musically and literally (sorry RiRi). Who doesn’t want some birthday sex to go along with yet another year alive on this earth? Although I am most definitely also a cake lover, there are so many more benefits to birthday sex than there are to birthday cake (think: fewer love handles, more love making).

 

All jokes aside, the situation between Rihanna and Chris Brown is something that they need to figure out themselves. Making judgments about their personal situation isn’t going to help them, or other individuals dealing with domestic violence. If you, or someone you know, is going through a tough situation, don’t be ashamed and seek out help immediately. On that note, go listen to (or have some) Birthday Sex! πŸ˜‰

~B

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How Jeremih Successfully Celebrates Birthdays Better

  1. Good Work Ladies! Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

