Runner’s World: Finding the Right Pair of Shoes

Nike. Adidas. Asics. Motion-controlled. Cushioned. Performance-Training. What type of running shoes are best for you?

So I started that half-marathon training… Very poorly. Needless to say, it’s not happening this year. I couldn’t walk right for a week and still have some pain on the outer edge of my foot after my first 4-mile run. The main reason for this pain? I was wearing the wrong running shoes. And to think that I was worried about the fragile ACL in my knee! To make a long story short, I sprained my peroneal tendon right off the bat, so there will be no half-marathon for me in the near future.

Anyways, back to my shoes. Runners everywhere have probably heard of pronation. You haven’t? Well, I hadn’t either. Think of it this way… Do you run with your feet rolling in or your feet rolling out? You might not even realize that you’re doing it. Check these out:

 

 

So, what do you do? Well of course, you have to work on your form. But how can you alleviate some of the pain in the meantime? By wearing the right type of shoes. Here’s the best online guide that I found via Runner’s World to help you shop smart: The Best Running Shoe for YOU! Want more? Try this Shoe Advisor that allows you to enter personal information and provides you with the best types of shoes for your workouts. It even recommends the amount of cushioning, stability, and flexibility that your shoes should be giving you. Have more questions? Check out the FAQ’s page.

Happy shopping! Maybe I’ll have better luck next year…

~E

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

