Body, Fullness and Volume? Only if You’re Lucky

I’m not one to fuss over my hair.  My style remains mostly the same: blow-dried straight with a round brush or curling the ends with a straightener.  The only product I usually use is mousse (and occasionally a bit of hair spray when it’s being particularly unruly).  Very low-key.  I’m picky about what goes in my hair (who isn’t?) and I’m always searching for products that will make my hair look great.

So, a couple of months ago, I was on the hunt for new mousse and went to Sephora.  There aren’t many options for hair products, but they have a “Living Proof” line that is apparently a best seller.  I bought the Living Proof Full Thickening Mousse ($15 for 1.9 oz or $26 for 5 oz)… It wasn’t exactly cheap, but I purchased it anyways.  That day my mindset was: the more expensive the product the better it will work. Wrong.

Okay, so here’s my experience. First of all, your hair has to be super wet to get great results.  This doesn’t work for me, as I do my make-up before my hair and therefore it’s usually partially dry by the time I get to it.  Also, you have to use just the right amount (an amount I never quite figured out) or else your hair will feel sticky…which makes it look kind of dirty.  Occasionally you can get the “right” combination and your hair will look great, but for the most part I was disappointed.  Definitely not worth the $15 a bottle.

So back to the store I went, this time to regular old CVS and found a mousse that I love.   Organix Weightless Mousse, Nourishing Coconut Milk ($7 for 8 oz.).  Two pumps and you’re good to go.  It’s not sticky at all, it’s light and smells delicious!  I haven’t tried any other products from the Organix line but I think I’ll be purchasing some next time I run out of shampoo!

Lesson learned: over-priced expensive doesn’t always mean better.

~J

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

