Just Into the Super Bowl for the Food?

It’s no mystery; I don’t like sports.  I actually borderline hate football season. (Can someone please tell me why they need to have like 10 games on in one weekend?!) I could never sit through an entire baseball game.  Hockey rinks are cold, and I would prefer cleaning out my car to watching a basketball game any day.  I’ve never been a fan and I most likely never will (sorry, Brittni)!

However, that being said, one sporting event that even I can sit through is the Super Bowl… And it mostly just has to do with all the food.  If you’re looking for a easy but delicious dish to bring to your party tomorrow, I’ve got you covered.  Now, I’m not a very good cook, and usually try to avoid it at all costs.  However, this is a recipe even I can handle.  I’m not sure where this recipe originated from, but my aunt has been using it for awhile and it’s always a big hit!

Pulled Pork

Ingredients:   Pork Shoulder, Bottle of Beer (enough to cover pork), Sweet Baby Ray’s BBQ Sauce

Directions:

  1. Put in the roast in crock pot and pour the beer over the roast. Cover and cook on high for about 12 hours.
  2. Remove the meat, with two forks, shred the meat, discarding any remaining fat, bones or skin. Most of the fat will have melted away.
  3. Return the shredded meat to the crock pot, stir in the barbecue sauce to taste. Continue to cook for another 4 to 6 hours on LOW.

This recipe takes awhile to cook (16-18 hours) but only a few minutes of preparation; I recommend starting it early tomorrow morning to make sure it’s ready for the game.  Then, just pick up some fresh bread on the way over to the party and you’re good to go!   Go enjoy the game… Or in my case… Find a nice spot to sit and chat.

~J

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

