Willing to Make a Fool of Yourself? Try ZUMBA!

Almost every day that I was home for Christmas break, my mother nagged me to come with her to a Zumba class at her gym. To be honest, the thought of watching my mom gyrate and booty shake (even though she has great rhythm!) to songs like Good Feeling by Flo Rida or Drop It Low by Ester Dean Ft. Chris Brown wasn’t my idea of a work out. I turned her down every time she asked; sometimes out of pure laziness.

Now that it’s the New Year, I’m trying very hard to keep up with my resolution of getting back in shape and being more active; so I decided to give Zumba a shot (Sorry, Mom!). My school offers an hour-long class every Monday and Wednesday and let me tell you, it’s an ass kicker! Zumba Fitness describes Zumba as an “exhilarating, effective, easy-to-follow, Latin-inspired, calorie-burning dance fitness-party™ that’s moving millions of people toward joy and heath.” A Zumba workout keeps you moving for the entire hour and you’re able to work every single part of your body in that hour. There’s no clear count of how many calories you can burn, but most sites say between 600-1000 calories per hour depending on your weight and how much effort you’re willing to put in.

I was always an active child, and even took dance classes when I was younger. I thought that might help my case when it comes to Zumba but no, not at all. First and foremost: If you decide to participate in a Zumba class… You need to be able to laugh at yourself. My roommate and I share many laughs while “dropping it low” and fist pumping to some of our favorite music. Don’t take yourself too seriously! The Zumba dances become very repetitive, so don’t worry, you’ll catch on if you attend class regularly. The upbeat and positive music makes it really easy to have fun while getting a good work out in. I’ve only gone to three classes this semester, but with each class, the dances become easier to follow and it’s actually really fun! Personally, I’d much rather work on my cardio by dancing around for an hour than by jogging on a treadmill.

I know not all colleges or fitness centers offer Zumba as a class, but have no fear, there are other ways of participating in these fun Latin dance classes. If you have a Wii or Xbox Kinect, you can purchase the Zumba game for it. I’ve heard a lot of great things about the game, and it’s would definitely be an easy way to burn some calories indoors instead of going outside in the cold!

I highly recommend this intensely fun way to exercise… Zumba is for all ages and you don’t need to be professional dancer to learn the moves! For more information about Zumba, click here.

Have you taken a Zumba class before? What did you think? Let us know at @20sTweet!

~T

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Willing to Make a Fool of Yourself? Try ZUMBA!

  1. Holly says:

    Taylor, well put!!! Love your article. I’m a Zumba instructor and a friend of your mom. It’s my goal to get people like yourself to try their first Zumba class… Come back a few times and them decide if you like it. Most fall in love. I know I did. Not fond of traditional exercise I turned to zumba and love it so much I decided to teach. Want more info find me on facebook zumbaWithHollyRI.

Leave a Reply

