Bud Light Platinum: Your Perfect Beer (Almost)

For all of the twenty-somethings out there who really, really enjoy an ice-cold beer, you’re just like me. If you’re a doubter and/or hater, like my fellow TwentyTweeter Jenna, still read: I plan on changing all of your minds (including you, Miss Beer Hater!) Although I am still weening myself slowly away from Bud Light (what’s so bad about it, anyways?) into the world of “grown-up” beers, I felt it was completely necessary to try out Budweiser‘s newest concoction, interestingly named Bud Light Platinum. Another beer of the light variety? Yes. Am I possibly biasedย because ofย my tendency to drink anything with the words “Bud” and “Light” in the title? Also, yes. BUT… I have to say, the Platinum in the name makes it just a little bit cooler. Let me break it down for you.

  • Your usual Bud Light contains 4.2% alcohol by volume and 110 calories
  • A Budweiser, or “Bud Heavy” as many name it, contains 5% alcohol by volume and 145 calories
  • Bud Light Platinum contains 6% alcohol by volume and 137 calories

So, what makes the Platinum so much better than either a Bud Light or a Bud Heavy? The fact that the “light” can still be tacked on to the name. Although it still contains more calories than your usual Bud Light, it is still much fewer than Bud Heavy’s. With the highest alcohol by volume of all three, who wouldn’t want to pick up this six-pack over any of the other competitors? The sleek, dark blue bottles are also pretty impressive.

The taste is similar to that of a Bud Light, with just a little kick. Like I said, I am still trying to adjust my taste buds to “big girl” beer, so it might be a while (or never) before I totally kick my Bud Light obsession. It’s not one of the tastiest or classiest beers, but it will certainly be a hit for any party, especially with the Super Bowl right around the corner.

And hey, if you think of things like I do, the less you have to drink, the less calories you’ll consume, and the less money you’ll have to spend. At about $7.99 for a six pack (depending on your local liquor store), that’s a cheap, fun, and delicious way to kick back and relax with some brews.

Have you tried Bud Light Platinum? If so, let us know @20sTweet.

Cheers! (Yes, that’s Brady. Say hi to Budweiser’s future beer model).

~B

This entry was posted in Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bud Light Platinum: Your Perfect Beer (Almost)

  1. ErikaAnn says:

    I’m loving the… more alcohol = less to drink = less calories ๐Ÿ˜‰

    I’ll have to pick some up & try it this weekend!

  2. Pingback: Does “Practice” Really Make Perfect? |

  3. Pingback: #RealWorldBlues…Part 2 |

Leave a Reply

