Q&A with Style’s Most “Sexual” Fairy: Briella Calafiore

The Style Network is known for its highly fashionable and extremely glammed-out shows, including two of its hits Jerseylicious and Glam Fairy. For anyone who’s unfortunately missed the opportunity to catch either: the two shows center around the eccentric, exciting, perfectly-styled, meticulously-beautified, and sometimes dramatic lives of those employed at The Gatsby Salon and The Glam Factory (respectively) in New Jersey. As the majority of these employees are female, it tends to get a little tense amongst all of the curling irons and bronzer, which definitely adds to the popularity (and guilty-pleasure-level) of the two shows. Luckily, the shows aren’t only based on the drama: there are many characters who add comedic relief throughout the duration of an episode. Briella Calafiore is one of these people. She’s the 22-year-old blonde bombshell who started out as Jerseylicious star Olivia Blois Sharpe‘s roommate, who worked her way up the long, hair-extension-filled, beauty ladder to become a fairy at Alexa Prisco‘s Glam Factory.

TwentyTweets was lucky enough to get a one-on-one with this amazing hair guru (according to her bio on the Glam Fairy website, Briella “is truly a hair prodigy”), and she reveals the ins and outs of her new-found celebrity life. She also tells us the secret behind her favorite term “sexual”…and it’s way cooler than you’d think!

Brittni: What brought you to the conclusion that you wanted to work in the cosmetology field as a career?

 Briella: I always knew I wanted to be a hairstylist. I love making people look and feel good about themselves. Making people feel sexual is the ultimate and plus I LOVE talking to my clients about life.

BH: How did you stumble upon the opportunity to be featured on the television shows “Jerseylicious” and “Glam Fairy”?

BC: The Casting people actually contacted me through MySpace. I sent them an email on why I should be on their reality show and once they found out that Olivia was a close friend it was a done deal.

BH: Do you see yourself as a celebrity in your own way? After being on this show do you find yourself being noticed when you go out (and if so, do you have any funny encounters with fans)?

BC: I have two lives. My “celebrity” life where I do events and appearances etc. and fans REALLY make me feel like a “celebrity.” Then I have my normal life where no one cares about my job. I mean, my friends and family love me and support me but they would be like that no matter what. I am extremely lucky to have such good and true people in my life.

BH: What is one of your favorite aspects of being on Jerseylicious and Glam Fairy?

BC: The best part of being on the two shows is how wonderful the clients and fans are. I love doing makeovers and making people over inside and out, for the better. The best part of being a stylist on TV is using my “status” to make people feel special. When I turned 22 a bunch of my fans made me a YouTube video and it literally made me cry. There are so many satisfying things about what I do.

BH: I’ve noticed you love the term “sexual” and I find that it adds to your comedic relief on the show/that it is your personal mantra. I think you’re hilarious, so please tell us what (in your eyes) it means to be “sexual.”

BC: When “sexual” first started being written in newspaper interviews my parents were like “what the hell does that mean?!!” But really the term sexual means confidence. It means being who you are and loving yourself. “Sexual” can be an adjective or a noun. As in, “You’re looking very sexual” OR “Woah! Hi sexual!” The fans that take me so seriously and get offended by the word, aren’t the fans that I want or need.

BH: What is one of the best things about being surrounded by people who share a common passion? One of the worst?

BC: One of the best is that everyone I work with “speaks glam.” Alexa, Jessica (Briella’s BFF), and I can talk about makeup, hair, and photo shoots for hours on end. People overhearing our conversations probably wouldn’t understand a word we were saying. I like our secret language. One of the worst parts is sometimes we all bump heads. We are all such passionate people and anal about how our work is presented that it’s hard to not have a few riffraff’s between each other. But at the end of the day we always end up laughing about something so hysterical and we all kiss and make-up.

BH: Since TwentyTweets is focused on mostly twenty-something readers, what would you provide as advice for twenty-somethings who are trying to live out their dreams?

BC: I think that your 20’s are something you should never take for granted. Don’t be so quick to get married and have babies.  (Unless that’s your full-out dream, then by all means go ahead) I wish people would seriously “live life to the fullest” not just talk about it. I can honestly say that I try my best to “live for today” every day. I’m also a firm believer in choosing a profession that you love. If you love what you do, you never have to work a day in your life. I always say that!

BH: What can we look forward to seeing from you within the next year?

BC: In March I will be guest starring with Jessica in the “VAGINA MONOLOGUES” at Montclair State University in Montclair, New Jersey to raise money to benefit female victims of violence and sexual abuse. As for the future I DO know that I have many goals and dreams that I want to accomplish and have a lot going on with my fabulous manager, Cynthia. You will all just have to wait and see what happens.

BH: 5 years? 10 years?

BC: The future is up in the air for me.  I could be married with a baby, still working in TV, or maybe even working in corporate. All I want in the future is to be happy. Happiness is more important to me than anything specific.

BH: How much longer will we be seeing you on the Style Network?

BC: I hope much, much longer! The style network has been SO GOOD to me and I’m extremely thankful to have been given this opportunity.

Be sure to tune in to The Style Network to catch-up with the rest of the fairies. For more on Briella, and all that is sexual, be sure to check out her fan page on Facebook or follow her as she glams her way through life on Twitter @briellamarie.

A special thanks is extended to Briella’s manager, Cynthia Stoklosa, for making this interview possible! Contact Cynthia at bmcinquiries@gmail.com for any inquiries concerning Briella such as club appearances, interviews, or parties you’d be interested in her attending.

~B

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

