Trucker Hats and Tuna Fish: 2004.

For this week’s Memory Lane Monday, I decided to take it back to a familiar time for all of us. Although it’s not necessarily a long-term memory relapse, I know you’ll all thoroughly enjoy it. My research derives from one source, and one source only (I hope you caught my N*ggas in Paris reference here)…my high school year book from the year 2004 (hello, Smithfield High School!)

Remember the days when you would receive those inserts to be placed at the very end of your book of high school memories? I never thought I would actually need (or want) to look back at these, but decided it would be the perfect way for me to reminisce with my TwentyTweets peeps.

Some headlines from the 2003-2004 year include:

  • Michael Jackson is arrested on multiple counts of child abuse after an accusation from a 12-year-old boy.
  • Action star Arnold Schwarzenegger replaces Gary Davis as governor of California in a highly publicized recall election.
  • Scott Peterson stands trial on murder charges in the slaying of his pregnant wife, Laci, and their unborn child.
  • The World Health Organization reports that severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) infected more than 8,000 people in over 25 countries, killing 700.
  • Rap mogul P.Diddy runs the New York City Marathon to raise over $2 million for the city’s children’s charities and public schools.

The twenty-somethings of 2004 would not be caught dead without these following trends (some of which still linger in our daily twenty-something lives). How many of you are guilty of these fashion faux-pas, either past or present? We definitely plead the fifth.

Trucker hats. I guess when people like Ashton Kutcher sport a certain look it’s acceptable, but in reality unless you’re an actual truck driver (which is completely fine), this look was probably NOT one of the coolest.

Velour Track-Suits. Comfy? Yes. Cute? Sometimes…I guess. Once again, with celebrity endorsement from a person as sexy as Jennifer Lopez, who wouldn’t want to sport one of these fashionable-sweats looks? Some variations of this trend have popped up over the years, some of which are actually acceptable. Luckily, the head-to-toe velour look died off almost as quickly as it started.

UGGS. Need I say more? I know that I personally still rock this trend… eight years later. Don’t tell TwentyTweets editor Jenna about this, though. She’d kill me (and all of you) if she knew.

What were twenty-somethings listening to during 2004? Beyonce dropped her hit-album Dangerously In Love and won four Billboard Music Awards. Her current hubby and baby-daddy Jay-Z claimed he was done with hip-hop and “retired” after he releasedย  The Black Album. Funny how things change, huh?

Twenty-somethings were Finding Nemo, Bending it Like Beckham, cruising the pirated seas of the Caribbean (The Curse of the Black Pearl), and spreading Christmas cheer with Elf. They sadly bid adieu to their best Friends during the 10th season of NBC’s hit series.

My favorite moment from 2004?

Jessica Simpson’s utterance of her famous (pretty much) last words, “is this chicken what I have, or is this fish?”

All of my historical, interesting, and fun facts were thanks to my Jostens yearbook insert! (Weird…but cool.)

*************************************

Should we go back further next Monday, or keep it within our lifetime? Let us know @20sTweet.

~B

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

