$27 for Blush?! Is it Really Worth it?

If you’re anything like me, you hate spending a lot of money on something that you can get for about 50% less.  That being said, if I love a product enough, I’ll spend the money on it (and won’t settle for any substitutes).  Behold my newest beauty splurge: NARS Blush in Orgasm ($27 at Sephora).

The description says, “peachy pink with golden shimmer,” and my first thought was, how much shimmer are we talking about? Middle school dance shimmer? Sun-kissed glow shimmer? Well, its more of an in-between.  The shimmer doesn’t look too fake or like you’ve just played in glitter, but does add just the right amount of (subtle) sparkle.

Given the rather steep price, I told myself that I would try the blush for a couple of days. If I didn’t completely love it, I would exchange it for something cheaper.  My biggest concern was that the color would be too bright and/or there would be too much sparkle.  After all, as twenty-somethings, we want to look professional and not like we’ve spent the morning “playing” in our mother’s makeup bags.  I was also skeptical of a blush that claimed to be “universally flattering” on all skin tones. However, my concerns were unmerited–the trial period for this blush is over and it is still in my makeup bag.

What completely convinced me to keep it was a picture of me from New Years Eve.  I was actually shocked by how well it complimented my skin tone without being too bright or too sparkly. I wear this blush with both my daytime and evening looks and have already recommended it to many of my friends.  Even if “Orgasm” isn’t the right shade for you, NARS offers dozens of others to choose from, including colors with and without sparkle.   They are all priced at $27 each.

Don’t let the high price hold you back.  I’m sure you’re good at justifying spending a lot for something you really want. This is a product that will last. Even if you do splurge and then decide that you’re not a fan, Sephora has a great return policy, and will let you return the product for a full refund.  So if your looking for a great blush, NARS is the way to go.

~J

This entry was posted in Beauty and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to $27 for Blush?! Is it Really Worth it?

  1. ErikaAnn says:

    I had no idea that Sephora has such a great return policy! Thanks for the tips, Jenna!

Leave a Reply

