Healthy Eating Made Simple: Vegetable Stir-Fry

Did you over eat this weekend? Oh, you didn’t? Okay well, I did. I ate like Christmas wasn’t just a week away and like I wouldn’t be helping myself to my mother’s baking and cooking for the next week straight. So, because of my careless eating and drinking this past weekend, I decided that a healthy dinner tonight was a MUST.

Salad again? I don’t think so. Thank God for Trader Joe’s and their “Harvest Hodgepodge” frozen vegetables. This frozen mix made it quick and easy to whip up my own version of vegetable stir-fry and throw it over brown rice. I don’t use measurements, but I’ll try my best to list everything out for you:

(I cook for one. But if you’re cooking for more, then add a little more.)

1/2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 bag of Trader Joe’s Harvest Hodgepodge vegetables

1/2 cup of dried brown rice

1/2 can of chick peas

1/2 can of kidney beans

3 tbsp soy sauce

1 tbsp brown sugar

Cook the rice according to the instructions on the bag or box. While the rice is cooking, add the olive oil and frozen vegetables to a small pan over medium heat. Once the vegetables have softened, add the chick peas and kidney beans (protein!) to the pan.

Be careful not to dry out or burn the chickpeas and kidney beans; if your rice isn’t ready yet, I suggest taking the vegetable mixture from medium to low heat. Mix the soy sauce and brown sugar in a small bowl (the easiest homemade stir-fry sauce ever) and pour half on the vegetable mix in the pan. Stir and remove from heat. Add rice to a serving dish and add the vegetable mix on top. And the rest of the sauce (if you please), stir, and eat! Super quick, super tasty, and not too bad on the calorie count.

Enjoy!

~E

This entry was posted in Health & Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healthy Eating Made Simple: Vegetable Stir-Fry

  1. Body Polish says:

    This sounds really good! I’ve never thought to use beans in stir fry (although now it seems very logical).

  2. Pingback: Healthy Eating Made Simple: Vegetable Stir-Fry « CalorieValerie.com

Leave a Reply

