Top 10 Reasons for Skipping the Gym

Guilty, as charged. I had every intention of doing a half hour of cardio before the hour-long TBT (Total Body Training) class that’s offered on Thursday nights at my gym. What am I doing instead? A million other things, I swear! Not really. I had some errands to run. Some laundry to do. Stuff that could have easily been done in time, or finished a little later. Which got me thinking… I’m definitely not the ONLY one who can think of a million good reasons excuses for skipping the gym, right?

Help me out here… Even your residential Health & Fitness Editor needs a little motivation every once in a while. I’ll give it a better shot tomorrow. Promise! But until then, here are the top 10 reasons why twenty-somethings like you and me may have skipped out on going to the gym tonight:

10. They sat in rush hour traffic and now it’s way too late for a workout when they have to be up at the crack of dawn again tomorrow.

9. It’ll mess up their hair – and they really don’t feel like washing it tonight.

8. They had errands, laundry, bills, and chores to do. (I guess it wouldn’t kill me to clean the bathroom right now, would it?)

7. They worked through lunch and need to get home RIGHT NOW to make some dinner.

6. It’s too far — there’s only enough gas in their tanks to make it to work tomorrow — and tomorrow is NOT a pay day.

5. Their favorite show is on. (Who’s watching Grey’s tonight? It’s new!)

4. They have dinner/drink/happy hour plans with ________ (fill in the blank with any co-worker, friend, or even stranger who invited them).

3. They forgot to charge their iPods. Who seriously works out without some music to drown out the heavy breathing?

2. It’s raining… snowing… OR it’s finally warm… and sunny out.

1. They’re TOO TIRED – and promise that they’ll go tomorrow.

What’s your excuse? Don’t leave me hanging… No one’s perfect! (Did I just make another?) Share your excuses with us in the comments below or tweet away @20sTweet!

~E

This entry was posted in Fun, Health & Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Top 10 Reasons for Skipping the Gym

  1. tovah11 says:

    To change into gym clothes, take off your makeup, sweat, wash your face again, change into street clothes…..it just goes on and on. lol.

  2. ErikaAnn says:

    Doesn’t it? Anyways, Happy Friday!

  3. Haha I love #3… there’s just *nooo way* I could possibly work out without my ipod being charged

Leave a Reply

